Music Banter - View Single Post - The Music Phylogeny Project : Collecting Suggestions for Traits!
View Single Post
Old 10-30-2009, 06:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Guybrush
Juicious Maximus III

Default The Music Phylogeny Project : Collecting Suggestions for Traits!

Some said it couldn't be done. What do they know - have they studied phylogeny? I don't know. Have I studied phylogeny? Well, yes - a bit. Do I think it can be done? Yes, of course it can! Let's do it!

Above, you can see a phylogenetic tree. It is a hypothesis describing the evolutionary relationship between different kinds of whales, how they diverged from a common ancestry.

Just for fun, I want to do the same for music. Music evolves over time much the same way as species do and if you can identify the characters that have changed over time, making such a tree for bands instead of whales is perfectly possible. I want to make a big phylogenetic tree showing different bands and see how they relate to eachother. Will metal form a monophyletic group? Is King Crimson really ancestral to Nirvana?

Hopefully in the end, I'll end up with one consensus tree and I can publish the results here. Maybe I can even write up a nice article-scientific-style pdf explaining the study along with results and discussion and of course a thank you section to all those who have helped .. Because of course I'm gonna need help!

What I need to do first is to identify the traits from which to compare the relationship between bands. That's where hopefully you come in.

How you can help : Traits and criteria

I'll need to record a number of traits for all bands/artists in the study and use that as a basis to compare bands with eachother. I need you guys to suggest such traits! Suggested traits should fit the following criteria :
  • Binary - For any given band or artist, the trait is either present or absent. They have it or they don't!
  • Is directly defining for the the sound bands and artists have