Go Back   Music Banter > Community Center > The Lounge
Register Blogging Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Welcome to Music Banter Forum! Make sure to register - it's free and very quick! You have to register before you can post and participate in our discussions with over 70,000 other registered members. After you create your free account, you will be able to customize many options, you will have the full access to over 1,100,000 posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2010, 09:57 PM   #651 (permalink)
Beet Farming Guru
 
Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hobbit Land NZ
Posts: 2,858
Default

Btw trace, JDownloader is written in Java which makes it slightly harder (but certainly not impossible) for it to have memory leaks. When you run taskmgr, do you see an instance of java.exe/javaw.exe hogging a truckload of memory?
Seltzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 09:59 PM   #652 (permalink)
MY EMOTIONS
 
eric generic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seltzer View Post
Btw trace, JDownloader is written in Java which makes it slightly harder (but certainly not impossible) for it to have memory leaks. When your run taskmgr, do you see an instance of java.exe hogging a truckload of memory?
i'm fairly sure the process that is doing the hogging is svchost.exe as i have checked it multiple times when i am running low. also, jdownloader will often break down on me. forcing me to end process and restart. and i haven't ever noticed javaw hogging the memory, so i am basically fucked. it really isn't that huge a deal, probably 2 or 3 times a week i have to restart and it takes up 2m of my time. it's more of a nuisance than anything. i am just anal.
__________________
Last.FM
eric generic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:07 PM   #653 (permalink)
Partying on the inside
 
Freebase Dali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,165
Default

What is svchost.exe And Why Is It Running? - How-To Geek

Notice the important line about disabling un-needed services... then check this out:

Windows 7 Services that can be Safely Set to MANUAL - Tweaking with Vishal

Then follow up with:

http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm (even though it's for XP, there's still a lot of relevance)


Edit: Not sure about Windows 7, but you might have to run services.msc to see all the services represented in the elder geek thing.
Freebase Dali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:10 PM   #654 (permalink)
Beet Farming Guru
 
Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hobbit Land NZ
Posts: 2,858
Default

svchost is a program used by Windows to host inbuilt Windows services (which could be running a desktop theme, Windows Defender or font support). It's quite normal to have 10 instances of svchost using a fair bit of memory in total. It is possible for malware to disguise itself as an svchost.exe instance, but like you said, it's probably not malware if the problem is persisting across formats.

This program might give you a little more info than taskmgr as to where your memory is going. Try it - it even shows you which services are being hosted by each svchost instance.
Seltzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:14 PM   #655 (permalink)
Partying on the inside
 
Freebase Dali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,165
Default

Yea, I tried to told him but he didn't wanna heard me.

In any regard, disabling unneeded services can help with the massive svchost thing.




Edit:
Sweet program, Seltzer. I didn't know about it.
Shit... now I wish I had a computer problem.
Freebase Dali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:18 PM   #656 (permalink)
MY EMOTIONS
 
eric generic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freebase Dali View Post
What is svchost.exe And Why Is It Running? - How-To Geek

Notice the important line about disabling un-needed services... then check this out:

Windows 7 Services that can be Safely Set to MANUAL - Tweaking with Vishal

Then follow up with:

Services Guide for Windows XP (even though it's for XP, there's still a lot of relevance)


Edit: Not sure about Windows 7, but you might have to run services.msc to see all the services represented in the elder geek thing.
like i said, i am anal. i have gone through every service/process, located why it is there and disabled it if i don't need it. i highly doubt it is that. i swear some program is leaking my memory. i will try this program seltzer, thanks!
__________________
Last.FM
eric generic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:23 PM   #657 (permalink)
Partying on the inside
 
Freebase Dali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trace87 View Post
like i said, i am anal. i have gone through every service/process, located why it is there and disabled it if i don't need it. i highly doubt it is that. i swear some program is leaking my memory. i will try this program seltzer, thanks!
Just sayin'... it's not svchost. Besides, if you counted all the kilobytes of what's running in the background, you'd be nowhere near 4 gigs I promise you that.
Something else is going on. For having 4 GB of Ram and doing what any standard computer user does, including myself, you shouldn't be running out of RAM.
Freebase Dali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:34 PM   #658 (permalink)
MY EMOTIONS
 
eric generic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,011
Default

serious samurize doesn't work on w7. fuckin w7 64bit is a pain in my ass.

edit: compatibility mode s'ok.
__________________
Last.FM
eric generic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 10:47 PM   #659 (permalink)
MY EMOTIONS
 
eric generic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,011
Default

freebase, wanna tell me how to have it display the free ram in the windows notification area? i added the meter in the editor. what option do i check to show it as that?
__________________
Last.FM
eric generic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:30 PM   #660 (permalink)
Partying on the inside
 
Freebase Dali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,165
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trace87 View Post
freebase, wanna tell me how to have it display the free ram in the windows notification area? i added the meter in the editor. what option do i check to show it as that?
From what I remember, you have to basically set it to show on the desktop in any position you'd like, but you have to run the program and in the task bar you should be able to right click the icon and load your custom meter.
Freebase Dali is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camp firefox, chrome sucks d, ctrl alt delete, google = skynet, linux, windows is your problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads



2014 Advameg, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.