Music Banter - View Single Post - Skill Progression - Self Taught
View Single Post
Old 11-03-2009, 02:32 AM   #17 (permalink)
Certif1ed
Music Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr dave View Post
no. what i'm saying is that you can learn the basics in about an hour. once you have that knowledge you need to practice it, but you don't 'need' someone to hold your hand remind you how to put your fingers to form the C shape everytime you pick up your guitar.
Not every time, but in my experience, many people find the C shape quite hard to master - and the F shape trickier still, never mind B7, so they need "hand-holding" for the first few weeks of learning.

I would suggest it would take most people an hour to get to grips with learning maybe E and A major and minor, and to be able to shift between the two, with D major and minor not far behind.

C and G tend to take longer to master - maybe your experience is different, but unless you live in an area populated by natural guitarists, I would suggest it's unusual.

Then there's B7 and D7, both quite tricky and an hour's worth, and you've spent 4 hours learning chords that will enable you to play in 4 keys.

Those are just about the basics for rock and pop.

Now you have to spend the time learning how to change between the chords - and most people I've come across require frequent reminders.

Quote:
from the theoretical side of things the knowledge is easy to obtain. i'm talking the 8 most common chord shapes, 1 scale, and the reasoning ability to understand how to move the shapes up and down the neck.

so that's 8 diagrams, 1 small tab, and about 2 paragraphs. if it takes anyone more than an hour to understand the knowledge contained within those pieces then they're probably still stuck on learning how to tie their shoes.
Personally, I'd be astonished if they learned all that in an hour. I'm reckoning on weeks.

Quote: