Music Banter

Go Back   Music Banter > The MB Reader > Album Reviews
Register Blogging Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Welcome to Music Banter Forum! Make sure to register - it's free and very quick! You have to register before you can post and participate in our discussions with over 70,000 other registered members. After you create your free account, you will be able to customize many options, you will have the full access to over 1,100,000 posts.

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2019, 08:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ⱨł₲ⱧɆⱤ Vł฿Ɽ₳₮ł₦₴
Mindfulness's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,919
Default Portugal. The Man - Evil Friends

Evil Friends is the seventh full-length album by the Alaskan rock band Portugal. The Man. It was released on June 4, 2013 through Atlantic Records.[1] It is the band's first collaboration with producer Danger Mouse.

The album was promoted by the singles "Evil Friends", "Purple Yellow Red and Blue" and "Modern Jesus". It received favorable reviews from music critics, and charted in the US, Austria, Germany, France and Switzerland.

Throughout early 2013, Portugal. The Man teased Evil Friends by leaking pictures on the official Bonnaroo Tumblr page, which showed that celebrated producer Danger Mouse (best known for his work with MF Doom, Gnarls Barkley, Jack White and Broken Bells, and for producing award-winning albums for artists like Gorillaz, The Black Keys and Norah Jones), was producing Portugal. The Man's new record.[2]

On February 25, 2013, the band revealed the title of the album on Instagram.[3] On March 6, the band revealed the album art for Evil Friends using a Tweet-To-Reveal Mosaic.

In the months leading up to the release of the album, John Gourley posted dozens of photos on the band's Instagram and Tumblr feeds featuring portraits of high-profile celebrities and musicians, including Thom Yorke and Kendrick Lamar, overlaid with his satanic illustrations. The band partnered with Aviary web application suite to release a sticker pack of the various elements in these drawings, allowing fans to create their own #EvilFriends portraits and upload them to Instagram.[4]

On May 29, 2013 the band held a party in partnership with Tumblr at LAB ART Los Angeles that showcased the artwork of The Fantastic The (John Gourley and Austin Sellers) and the photography of Danger Mouse, and featured a GIF-ITI mural collaboration between John Gourley and street artist INSA. Evil Friends was simultaneously released as streaming online on the band's Tumblr page.[5]

All tracks written by John Baldwin Gourley and Danger Mouse.

No. Title Length
1. "Plastic Soldiers"
2. "Creep in a T-Shirt"
3. "Evil Friends"
4. "Modern Jesus"
5. "Hip Hop Kids"
6. "Atomic Man"
7. "Sea of Air"
8. "Waves"
9. "Holy Roller (Hallelujah)"
10. "Someday Believers"
11. "Purple Yellow Red and Blue"
12. "Smile"
Originally Posted by Trollheart View Post
You need to be more mindful of what you post.
Mindfulness is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads

2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.