Music Banter - View Single Post - Advice thread
Thread: Advice thread
View Single Post
Old 05-31-2011, 05:36 PM   #132 (permalink)
Freebase Dali
Partying on the inside

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumor View Post
Um
I know I'm not stupid, lazy, or a slave to my sexual urges. Good advice though. You're a top notch guy Crash.

I don't know, I want to help people, its the only thing that makes me feel like my life is meaningful. If I did that for a living, I would be very happy. I could just get a profession thats decent and easy and volunteer on the side but I'm 17 years old! I figure I'm young enough to be at least a bit ambitious.
I'm a good student. Not a great student, a good student. I'm a decent athlete. Not a great athlete but a decent one. I will probably not get a scholarship. I'm not sure about loans but flipping burger for a few years to pay for college doesn't seem so bad. The idea of being a medic is a very new one to me but I thought it was a decent solution to my problem. Granted, I don't necessarily trust the government, nor do I approve of the war or want to shoot at people, but I have no moral opposition to giving sick people medical care. I thought I could be a nurse at first but somebody told me you had to have nurse training beforehand. Silly, since I don't want to be a nurse and would just be frittering away my life.
I don't expect it to be fun or exciting, really, although in the back of my mind I'm expecting parts of it to be absolutely terrifying. One of the qualities I like most about myself is my ability to work under pressure. When I need to, I can shut off my mind and do the things that need to be done. I figured this would be a good quality for someone in that sort of profession to have. Basically, the millitary>McDonalds because I would get to help people so I would feel like my life had meaning, and I would probably get the money faster.