Music Banter - View Single Post - Surreptitiously, However...
View Single Post
Old 11-09-2011, 08:12 AM   #44 (permalink)
The Fascinating Turnip
Moper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldog View Post
As for the Style Council, all I really know of theirs is this;

The Style Council - Have You Ever Had It So Blue - YouTube

^ The song they did for the soundtrack of Absolute Beginners (which is itself an album absolutely everyone should own if I'm frank).
I only have Café Bleu, and to be frank, the album goes a bit dodgy in the end, I feel.

Never heard of Absolute Beginners, is the film worth it or just the soundtrack?

Radiohead

Ah, Radiohead. They might get overly praised by some their fans and for that same reason seem to be truly hated by a few music lovers. No matter how annoying their fans can be, however, these chaps have written some stellar songs. For me, Radiohead have been one of those bands who have evolved in a very positive way. I don't mean I enjoy the latest albums more than I enjoyed the earlier ones, but they've certainly become something quite different from what they were in Pablo Honey (which to this day I've never really felt like listening to), moving away from that style and towards something a bit less linear, a bit less mainstream. I find this shows quite a bit of character, and I admire them for it. Another band which underwent a similar progress were Talk Talk. Were they brilliant? No, they were bleedin' immense. They started out with a few pop tunes and then contributed heavily to the creation of Post-Rock.

This post is not really about Radiohead's career, or Talk Talk's, for that matter, I just felt I had to do a bit of an intro, as opposed to just posting videos of what I enjoy now and then (which is what I usually do).

Lately, as one would guess, I've started listening to Radiohead quite compulsively again. Especially Amnesiac and In Rainbows ( albums which I oddly didn't really fancy too much some time ago).