Music Banter - View Single Post - Surreptitiously, However...
View Single Post
Old 11-12-2011, 02:49 PM   #48 (permalink)
The Fascinating Turnip
Moper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldog View Post
Yeah, I've heard the Style Council are a bit iffy, which is what's kept me from listening to them further to be honest. Maybe one of these days I'll get round to it.

As for Absolute Beginners, the musical numbers and set-pieces are really damn good, but like a good 90% of other musicals I've ever watched, the rest of the film's let down by dodgy acting, a weak plot and so on. It's worth checking out for yourself one day though.
Will do sir, will do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trollheart View Post
Just so you (and everyone else interested) know, I'll soon be compiling a "Beginner's Guide to The Divine Comedy", sometime in the next few weeks, other workload and life permitting (though in fairness, I have very little of the latter!)

I've already created one for Threshold and Balance of Power, and in case you haven't seen them they basically give an intro to the artiste, pick out selected tracks from each of their albums and let you decide whether or not you'd be into them, or if you already are, what albums are considered their best (and worst).

Like the squeaky-voiced teen said in "The Simpsons" --- "Keep watching the skis!"
I'll be on the lookout for the guide, then, I'm curious about which songs you're going to choose.

Flying Nun!

Now, you may be thinking: What's this geezer aiming at with another post about Flying Nun Records? Well, It's not really a post about Flying Nun Records per se. There, ran rings round you logically.
It is, however, a post with a few tracks from bands which I quite like that happen to be on that brilliant record company. With that in mind, here are some "bringer-uppers", if you ever find yourself in the need. God knows I do.