Music Banter - View Single Post - Geekoid's World of Music
View Single Post
Old 07-29-2012, 10:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Geekoid
Music Addict

Before I make this post, I just want to say that journaling has proven to be a little harder than I expected. Admittedly, I'm a self-conscious writer (a self-conscious person, really). That has really come across in my first few posts, especially because I haven't been sleeping regularly in the past few days.

I'm used to going through the mental process of getting a good sense of my audience before I share my writing- to look at their faces and listen for verbal cues. All I have to work with here is text and smileys. I need to remember that. I usually don't share my writing at all. I often feel somewhat alienated, in that my word choice and perspective aren't what most people would consider 'relatable.' I tend to expect that whatever I have to say isn't even worth saying. I know I'm not alone in my feeling this way, but honestly, it is what it is.

I've noticed that consistently, other people feel distant from my point of view; and it keeps me at arms' length most of the time. I need to look at what I want to accomplish with this journal, so that there's a chance that it might help me to become a more "readable" writer; and that instead of being stand-offish or alienating, maybe I can become more inviting.

So here are my goals (breaking down the 4th wall a little with this):
By 2013, I hope to improve on the following faults and habits-

1. I will do something about my lack of knowledge about music. I've realized that I have some fatal gaps in my knowledge, which comes across as quite redundant and naive. I need to read other members' reviews. It's like asking for help. I'm not so supernaturally talented that I couldn't use some outside inspiration.