Music Banter - View Single Post - Whiskey's Album Reviews Thread
View Single Post
Old 01-27-2013, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Whiskey
Account Disabled

Big thanks to the moderator that approved my thread! I think I'll begin by reviewing this album. I'll give some basic information and then the full review after that. Before that though I must say that Im not experienced in reviewing albums so forgive me if I say wrong things in the review or if the review itself sounds a bit stupid.

Now lets begin!

Track Listing:

1. Frantic
2. St. Anger
3. Some Kind of Monster
4. Dirty Window
5. Invisible Kid
6. My World
7. Shoot Me Again
8. Sweet Amber
9. The Unnamed Feeling
10. Purify
11. All Withing my Hands

Album: St. Anger
Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars
Artist: Metallica
Year of Release: 2003
Genre: Heavy Metal, Speed Metal
Full Review: Metallica's St Anger is quite an odd album compared to the rest of Metallica's discography, especially the earlier albums. The sound is modern, the production is raw, and the drums sound like they are made of pure steel. You wont find a single guitar solo on this album, though that isnt necessarily a bad thing. The combination of all these things, along with the overall lengthy duration of the album give it a unique feel that isnt present in any of Metallica's other albums. There also comes a very common question regarding the album - why is it that way? What were Metallica thinking when recording it? The answer is pretty clear, at least for me - they wanted to spread their wings and try something new!