Music Banter - View Single Post - The Anthill 2.0: Albums, Artists & The Chance To Win A Million Dollars!
View Single Post
Old 09-13-2013, 04:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Anteater
Certified H00d Classic

Quote:
Lets face it folks: life can be a real ugly bitch. That's why via Anteater's Life Lessons, you'll get some insight into something (non-music related) that I'm familiar with, usually in a five point list format that'll give you food for thought in future encounters with said subject.
Life Lesson #1:
Five Things To Watch Out For When It Comes To Insurance

First, a bit of background. When I came straight out of college, I was unsurprisingly greeted with an inflexible and rather ornery marketplace that couldn't give two shits about my Mass Communications degree and internships. Secondly, the college I graduated from, whilst not a terrible educational institution, wasn't exactly on most businesses' top hiring locale lists when searching for new blood. Thus, I made something of a left turn and ended up getting hired as an "independent insurance producer" for Farmers Insurance, which is one of the biggest players in the industry here in the U.S.

Needless to say, I learned a lot of things during my half year tenure on the sales end of things. Wasn't exactly a walk in the park getting my certifications for auto, homeowners, health & life insurance, etc. either. Thus, here's a five point summary on a few things I learned, stuff which applies both to people looking to get INTO the industry, but also to any of you who have ever bought insurance or are getting to the point where you need to look into it.

1. Don't just sign an insurance contract because the price is low. The agents WILL let it happen even if you aren't properly covered.