Music Banter - View Single Post - Putting It Into Words: Why the heck do I love this stuff?
View Single Post
Old 12-29-2013, 09:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
James
Account Disabled

Default Putting It Into Words: Why the heck do I love this stuff?

I've been planning this project for a while. I initially wanted to do some sort of music journalism exercise just for my own private use, as a way to improve my writing skills. I study English at university and I have ambitions of writing for a living one day but my technical abilities are not as great as they could be. My head is awash with ideas, I am full of creative energy, I am passionate about my topics - yet I struggle to express all of this in a clear and concise way. Music is a classic example. From as early as I can remember music has at least partially defined me as a person. Music has been one of the most important parts of my life for the last eight years or so. But if asked upfront what it is I like about my favourite albums and songs I struggle. I have distinct memories of posting on this site a few years back and offering little justification other than "the lyrics are good" or "I like the bass" - what makes the lyrics good? What is so so great about the bass? I'm hoping to explore the roots behind my music taste and really get down to the reasons that I love music.