Music Banter - View Single Post - A Place, But Unlike Other Places
View Single Post
Old 09-05-2014, 12:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
CoNtrivedNiHilism
Because I Am, I Can!

Default A Doom Metal Masterpiece!

Band: Pallbearer
Album: Foundations Of Burden
Release: August 19th, 2014 via Profound Lore
Length: 55:00
Tracklist:

1. Worlds Apart
2. Foundations
3. Watcher In The Dark
4. The Ghost I Used To Be
5. Ashes
6. Vanished

Where to begin? Well. I am new to this band. Doom Metal isn't usually something I actively seek out, however I was wanting something with more to it than what I usually listen to, something with my grit, a bit of a sludgy doom metal sound and Pallbearer fit that perfectly. It's a rather melodic album despite the kind of music it is. I'm more used to that more growl vocalized doom metal with a more brutal, slow approach.

I call this album a masterpiece. My reasons being the impression it left upon me. I don't exactly have the proper knowledge on doom metal to appropriately talk about the overall tone or theme of the album, but there's a deep sense of despair, death, hopelessness, forlorn all throughout the album. But it's just so damn well done! I am utterly blown away by this band. Not entirely sure of anyone here that loves this kind of music knows of the band and would agree with me here. But damn. This is good stuff ladies and gents.

The opener Worlds Apart is a nearly 10 minute and a half long epic of dark, doomy euphoria. It is a hard and heavy track with tons of texture. It brought early Katatonia to mind, which is one of my most beloved bands on the planet. Well executed, Worlds Apart.

What follows is another great track, Foundations, nothing short of epic in its own right. It is nearly 9 minutes in length, and every bit of it is splendid. One of the bands finest moments on the album.