Music Banter - View Single Post - Self Taught vs Non-Self Taught Musicians
View Single Post
Old 01-07-2015, 10:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
EPOCH6
V8s & 12 Bars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plankton View Post
One of the drawbacks of being self taught, with years of experience, is that I really couldn't tell you a lot about theory, modes, or anything technical music-wise. I can tell you what key something is in, or what chords are being played, but when it comes to theory, and the nitty gritty (as described above), I'm clueless. Not because I'm against injecting that knowledge into anyone's musical arsenal, but because I've never felt the need to have to learn any of it. I'm the type of person that likes simple, and steer far away from over analyzing anything, unless it's a necessary evil. I've given lessons, but I can only take the kids I teach so far in the technical side of it.