Music Banter - View Single Post - The In-Tray: A Collaborative Workspace for Journal Authors
View Single Post
Old 02-19-2015, 05:16 AM   #21 (permalink)
Trollheart
Born to be mild

Quote:
Originally Posted by aux-in View Post
I'm working on my next write-up for my Journal. What I'm trying to decide is...I am a visual person as well, so I'm not sure the spoiler tags will be right for me. OK, I am sure...I really don't want to do that. I am new to this process, but the goal is full creativity. I don't mind if it takes awhile to get approved. It's a journal entry and not a regular forum post, so even if it took a day or two, it just looks better to me to have the videos be ever-present in conjunction to the points I'm trying to make. What say you?

Journals can all be different depending on what you'd want to do. If I started a journal about rock, for instance, I would want to try to resist the temptation to go on tangents about other types of music...tempting as it is. It's about whatever works for you. If I started a general one and then had an idea for something unrelated but specific, I might start a new one focusing on said specific topic.
The thing is, some of the mods whose job it is to approve your entry have slower, older computers and I certainly got a right bollocking for crashing at least one of them. If you go through anybody's journal with videos, even Unknown Soldier's, where he groups four videos together at the end of the review, your PC will stutter and the page will freeze for a few seconds. And my PC is a good one: AMD six-core Phenom II. Now, multiply that by the amount of journals these guys have to approve, and if it keeps happening two things are going to happen: you'll get a warning not to use so many videos or spoiler them or, worst case scenario, your entries will not be approved or will take a while to be.