Music Banter - View Single Post - Your History as a Musician
View Single Post
Old 05-26-2015, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
LoathsomePete
Cardboard Box Realtor

When did you start playing? What was your first instrument?

I guess it would be the recorder back in first grade. I took up trumpet from grades 6-8 but dropped it pretty early on in grade 8 because our band instructor left to get his doctorate and the new guy was a dipshit. I had also picked up a Squier Strat a few months prior and wanted to focus on just that. I think that was 2002.

What were the first songs you learned?

Probably "Hot Cross Buns"

Did you take lessons and for how long? What was your teacher like?

When I dropped trumpet and took up guitar I did start taking lessons and it was probably the best decision I ever made. I am a little envious of self-taught musicians, but I work better with someone else when I can ask questions and get answers directly.

When was your first performance? What gear did you have?

Outside of the usual school band stuff my first performance with guitar was with the store I took lessons from. I think we did a rendition of "God Rest Ye Weary Men". As for gear, I honestly can't remember, but I think I was using a Peavey guitar.

When did you start or join your first band? What did you play? How long did it last?

Joined my first band at 14 and it lasted about as long as it took a neighbor to complain about the noise.

How have your gear preferences changed over time? What is your favorite gear now?

I never really had a preference back when I was younger, it was pretty much whatever I could get with the money I had. I never had anything better than a 30 watt solid state amp until a few months ago. I definitely prefer LTD and ESP guitars now over anything else I've played, although if I could get one for a good price I would still like to get a Gibson SGJ.

I've definitely had a change of heart about distortion pedals and now would just prefer to use amp distortion.