Music Banter - View Single Post - Your History as a Musician
View Single Post
Old 05-26-2015, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Frownland
SOPHIE FOREVER

When did you start playing? What was your first instrument?
I started playing guitar when I was eight years old. I had my dad's hand me down Ibanez G Series which I still have and play to this day as well as an acoustic Applause guitar. Kind of an Ovation ripoff with the round back, but I play it all the time still.

What were the first songs you learned?
One by Metallica was the first one that I learned all the way through, then I forget the rest. I had a volume of all these songs transcribed for guitar (they usually had guitar in them too) that I made my way through when I was learning.

Did you take lessons and for how long? What was your teacher like?
My dad taught me some basics for two or three years. There were some times when our planned practice hours was us just jamming some song I had learned. Then we just kind of stopped doing lessons for no particular reason, and I was self taught from then on.

When was your first performance? What gear did you have?
My first performance was at ten years old at my elementary school talent show. I played my Ibanez and used my dad's Marshall. It was an original piece that was a cheesy metal instrumental that a ten year old would love. I also did a bunch of acoustic performances at our church growing up.

When did you start or join your first band? What did you play? How long did it last?
My first band was Rest In Agony in middle school, but we never actually did anything but talk about the band since we lived far apart and only saw each other during the school time. Ended after a year of not doing anything. Then I started a real band called Wolves in Sheepskin where I started off playing just guitar but moved onto other instruments throughout the years. I started it with a mate when we were fourteen so it's been going for 6 or 7 years now.