Music Banter - View Single Post - Mon journal politique
View Single Post
Old 02-06-2016, 02:04 AM   #29 (permalink)
William_the_Bloody
Music Addict

Human Intelligence: Are some people smarter than others?

Despite time constraints I will try not to be intellectually lazy with this one, as it is probably one of the most important subjects I will cover in my journal. Despite this, I only have free access to scholarly article if I drive to the University I graduated from, so I will largely be relying on articles that cite scientific studies.

It is quite apparent that physical inequality exists, it is visually noticeable, we can see it before our eyes, but because we still know so little about the human brain, the scientific evidence to support intellectual inequality, at least on a significant level, is less clear. So I'll attempt to answer three major questions...

1) Does genetic differentiation lead to notable differences in individual intelligence?
2) Is there a scientific reliable way to measure intelligence? (Ie; IQ testing)
3) Does intelligence lead to inevitable income inequality? (ie ; a correlation with IQ and income)

Human Intelligence Part 1

1) Does genetic differentiation lead to notable differences in individual intelligence?

There is strong irrefutable evidence that our intelligence is in part biologically determined. First we know that some humans are born with intellectual disabilities, (retarded; a term still used in the US) while others are seemingly born gifted (genius) with the ability to solve complex equations within a very quick timeframe.

We also know that this seems to be a hereditary in that a child who is born a genius, or retarted, or bright, but with some sort of learning disability, will often have a brother or sister who displays the same features or challenges in their life.