Music Banter - View Single Post - Need Mentor
Thread: Need Mentor
View Single Post
Old 02-11-2016, 03:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
TheLhix
Music Addict

Location: Under the keys of my keyboard like a troll under a bridge

I will assist in what I can. I agree with tore and the others, there are better ventures to find better quality advice, as well attempting to dig deep into your own perception and practice would be worthwhile. One thing we forget though, is that its difficult to learn from nothing and not all people had the clues of where to look. Even if tutorials are around, some guidance might be of assistance to the lad, but I highly doubt you will get a mentor in a production industry. Its understood that it is rather difficult to make money off production as well, giving away all specific tips and tricks that make a individuals production is not good for business. I am a amateur and have only been working at this for a little under a year myself.

I am currently doing most of my production with a Yamaha e443, DRV100 cardi unidirectional mic and Cockos reaper software. (Cheap setup, but its works well for what I have and is very beginner friendly)

I would suggest firstly testing your designated area of recording for acoustics with your own ear. While Tore suggested good programs for doing so, I find in my own experience (what little it is) that using your own ears as guidance will work. Reflect and analyze before your record, during the recording and after the recording. Your ears will be training while you do this which will assist in other production ventures and it can make for an accurate and clear recording sound if practiced and done enough.