Music Banter - View Single Post - A Personal Video Game Award Ceremony - Presented by Kiiii - (2017 - Whenever)
View Single Post
Old 01-07-2018, 12:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Key

Dead Cells
Release Date: May 10, 2017

I know, I KNOW! I've probably beaten a few dead horses by now when I'm talking about Dead Cells, but I say that with a bit of a gleaming patch of confidence. Dead Cells is not only one of the most fun games I've played in 2017, but it's also potentially one of the absolute best roguelike games I have played in several years. The last time I had this much fun with a game was when the original Binding of Isaac was getting popular. We've had several great roguelike games before Dead Cells of course, but none of them quite scratch the surface of near perfection that this game thrives on.

From the minute I started playing this game months ago, I knew this was going to be a game that I would eventually put 55 total clocked hours into it. I'm quite surprised with how low that number looks to me, but I guess it's also because I live a busy schedule, so even to put 55 hours into one game with that kind of schedule is pretty amazing. I've not played it very often lately as I've been putting all my time into Slay The Spire, but Dead Cells will always be that game I fall back on when I just need to sit back and chill.