Music Banter - View Single Post - The scariest ****ing thing you've ever seen.
View Single Post
Old 02-12-2018, 12:22 AM   #232 (permalink)
Chula Vista
Toasted Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by [MERIT] View Post
(1) I majored in structural civil engineering.

(2) The Twin towers were built to withstand plane crashes.

(3) A B-25 Bomber hit the Empire State Buulding in 1945. Anyone care to guess what the outcome was?
Which one is it MERIT? (1) and (2) above totally contradict each other. Either you really did (1), or you truly believe (2). You simply can't have it both ways. Unless the lizard Truther portion of your brain has completely taken over. If that's the case? You need help dude.

(3) I almost brought this up earlier.

Quote:
MERIT: The Twin towers were built to withstand plane crashes. As a former structural civil engineer, this case is most intriguing to me. And you all seem to not understand how buildings work.
If, as a former structural engineer, you can't comprehend the totally diametric physics involved in the 1945 and 2001 events.....

I was going to explain it from a purely engineering aspect, but found this, which says it much clearer than I could at this hour.

Quote:
The important thing to note is that although these incidents have similarities, they also have many very big differences.

The first major difference is the kind of building that the empire state building is.

The empire state building is made from reinforced concrete and other heavy building materials such as masonry. It has a central support column as well as many additional interior support columns, all made from reinforced concrete, steel and masonry.

The density (weight per unit volume) of the empire state building is approximately 38 pounds per cubic foot. The density of the twin towers: 8 or 9 pounds per cubic foot.

Why were the twin towers so light compared to the empire state building?