Music Banter - View Single Post - Welcome to Trollheart's Fortress of Prog!
View Single Post
Old 12-05-2020, 10:14 AM   #30 (permalink)
Trollheart
Born to be mild

All right then, this is the one I’m going to kick off with, in tribute to Anteater, who introduced the band to me through one of his threads. I had never even heard of them, but he mentioned the “T” word, and any band that’s favourably compared to Threshold will always find a welcome here. I just listened to the one track he posted, liked it, agreed it shared elements with the Surrey prog metallers and got the album. This is my first time to listen to it.
Album title: I Wonder
Artist: Teramaze
Nationality: Australian
Year: 2020
Chronology: 7
The Trollheart Factor*: 0

Track Listing: Ocean Floor/Only Daylight/Lake 401/A Deep State of Awake/Here to Watch You/Sleeping Man/Run/Idle Hands - The Devil’s Workshop/This is Not a Drill/I Wonder
Comments:Good rocky start, like the use of the piano and the keys. Vocalist has a lot of talent. “Only Daylight” has more of a hook to it, kind of AOR-ish really, though I would make the tentative point that so far nothing has been that memorable. Not on the first listen anyway. “Lake 401” might change that. Has an odd feeling of a-ha about it, around the Analogue era. The orchestral keys are nice. Sort of a ballad, though not quite. Ominous kind of sound. More orchestral style keys in “A Deep State of Awake”, and yes, this one sounds very Threshold indeed. Even down to the death vocals the other guys use on “Slipstream” from the Dead Reckoning album. Rocks along nicely.