Music Banter - View Single Post - Playing Catch-up
View Single Post
Old 07-10-2022, 02:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Bulldog
why bother?

Sorry it's taken me so long getting back here, everyone! I think it's safe to assume that I'm most likely to post on weekends here. I've been putting some videos together, planning some holidays, finally put the finishing touches on this project I've been working on for 6 months, I'm teaching myself Romanian and Hungarian - you name it and it's on my plate

Not that I'm complaining, of course. I'd rather be pushing myself like this than doing nothing at all!

Please do keep the videos coming, people. I'm loving seeing all these when I finally get the chance to jump back online for a while!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guybrush View Post
Thanks for your response, Bulldog

Yeah, that self-conscious, self-deprecating vibe is something I can relate to all too well. There's plenty of stuff I've made which a lot of the time I'm just so nervous about putting it out into the world however I can. You kinda look at your competition, start measuring your work against everyone else's, it's not a fun road to travel! You're spot on though, it does make her particularly endearing when you have that in mind.

Of course, some of it may well be an act to whatever degree. After all, putting yourself and your work out there into such a fiercely competitive market, you've got to do whatever you can to make yourself look as unique as possible. At least, that's what I think anyway.

The Robert Wyatt link definitely makes my ears prick up a little bit. Apart from knowing him for a bunch of his solo work (I think I've got his album Schleep on one of my hard drives somewhere), Elvis Costello wrote the song Shipbuilding for him. And the version that Wyatt recorded was one of David Bowie's favourite ever songs (on one of those rare occasions where he'd talk about such things).