Music Banter - View Single Post - Music, the Devil, Causes Shooting Blah Blah Blah
View Single Post
Old 11-11-2007, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
sleepy jack
isfckingdead

Default Music, the Devil, Causes Shooting Blah Blah Blah

Metal News - Sturmgeist Comments On Finnish School Shooting ( Metal Underground . com )

Quote:
Sturmgeist's Cornelius von Jackhelln has issued a statement on the recent high school shooting in Finland:

"Today an 18-year old man shot seven people in a high school massacre in Tuusula, Finland. The killer referred to himself as "Sturmgeist89" on YouTube. Sturmgeist is not only the name of my band, but also of a character in the video game "Medal of Honor". As of yet, it is not established wherefrom the murderer took the name. Understandably, journalists keep calling me, eager to prove a link between my band and the massacre. However, as an artist, I can neither control the actions of my fans nor be held responsible for them."

"It is my firm conviction that if somebody wishes to go down as the cause of a massacre like that in Tuusula, explanations beyond music must be sought. In an interview with the Oslo-based newspaper Dagbladet today I argue that although extreme metal as a genre deals with topics such as isolation, misanthropy and despair, blaming the musicians is both wrong and unfair. It is people that kill people. Not music."

"Extreme metal has a potential both for social comment and personal katharsis, given its dealing with problems ordinarily shunned by mainstream society: suicide, madness, pollution, violence, warfare and drug abuse all occur regularly in extreme metal lyrics, mostly subject to critical scrutiny."