Music Banter - View Single Post - Returning Musician, need help purchasing a keyboard
View Single Post
Old 02-10-2009, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
damontgo
Groupie

Default Returning Musician, need help purchasing a keyboard

I've been dying to get back to the piano for a few years, and now I can finally do it- but everything I thought I knew about digital pianos and keyboards has changed, and I have no idea where to begin. The digital piano I used to play on was before MIDI really took off, though I think you could most liken it to what is now known as a stage piano- but with built in speakers. It was meant to be a home-use piece though, not a stage-performance piano.

I'll try to describe what I'm looking for as best as I can, and I hope someone can help!
  • Built-in speakers
  • 88 keys
  • Weighted Keys
  • I'm told I should look for something called GM (General MIDI, i think?)
  • Portable - I have space restrictions, so it needs to be able to live in a case and be put on a fold-out stand when I'm using it
  • Headphone jack
  • Mac compatible, if at all possible (If what I have read is true this rules out Casio and Yamaha)
  • Recommendations for a sustain pedal to go with

To give you an idea of how I'll use it- it will be for home-use only, which is the reason for the built in speakers. I'd say about 80% of the time it will be used just like a normal piano would. However, I dabble in video production on my Mac, and I'd like to be able to compose my own songs in Garageband when needed. You can think of me as a serious amateur in this regard, I don't need something that has 10,000 samples and programmable this and that- mostly just be able to record what I'm playing on the keyboard to my computer.