Music Banter - View Single Post - I recently started learning bass...
View Single Post
Old 03-31-2009, 10:34 AM   #16 (permalink)
Blue
Music Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr dave View Post
i think it's really futile to try learning a list of random tunes from strangers unless you've already tapped out everything you already like (which you haven't mentioned yet). if i've said it once....

playing music is not a competition

no one will care what tunes you know how to play unless you're auditioning for a cover band. stick with what YOU like, it'll make learning the instrument far more rewarding.

personally i'm also against getting a list of the simplest tunes to start with. i've always gone straight for the pinnacle of what i wanted to achieve in the moment with the knowledge that i would ultimately 'fail' as a beginner. first tune i tried learning on bass was 'higher ground' by the chili peppers. hard as hell when you've never slapped or popped, but i stuck with it for a while, and when i tried the 'simpler' RHCP tunes i breezed through them.

as opposed to having a steady climb i started at a personal peak (and struggled), but you better believe by the time i revisited that peak i SMOKED that bass line.
I'm the same way in a lot of senses. The first thing I started learning was the intro solo to Shine On You Crazy Diamond, which I suppose is really quite simplistic, but it was the reason I was playing, and it was my inspiration (well, Floyd in general). It also started my playing career off by doing a lot of bending, which I'm quite grateful for now because my bending and vibrato comes quite easy to me.