Music Banter - View Single Post - Pro-Life vs. Pro-Choice
View Single Post
Old 04-25-2009, 06:26 AM   #92 (permalink)
Guybrush
Juicious Maximus III

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrice View Post
There has been very little discussion of morals from the pro-choice side, the argument is completely about whether or not a fetus is living, then comparing it to animals, then posting a lame picture. What drives the pro-choice compass?
I've already posted my moral argument - in my last post and earlier on page 6 when I posted :

(edit : I agree, though, there's not enough moralistic points from either side .. which makes me wonder if people think about their morals or if they just follow the compass blindly.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tore View Post
I'm pro-choice .. as a biologist, I don't really see anything holy about an embryo. We're a god-forsaken bunch.

It's an interesting moral topic and I've read through the answers here and it doesn't seem like a lot are actually providing any arguments why they should be pro-life or pro-choice. From a utilitarian perspective, the right thing to do is whatever causes the least amount of pain and/or most amount of happiness. Because you can't know if the child will be happy or not, you could argue that when taking such a decision, you should look at the now and whatever you think might happen. The possibility of the child living a happy life is just speculation and could be disregarded. Since it's logical to assume that a fetus does not have the capability to suffer much because of an abortion, it should not have the same moralistic consideration as that of an adult person, for example the mother. In other words, you should do what maximizes the happiness of people such as the mother and father, not the fetus which is probably neither happy or sad about the decision.