Music Banter - View Single Post - The MusicBanter Gazette
View Single Post
Old 06-11-2009, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
someonecompletelyrandom
Account Disabled

The ease at which we can now get music at for free has really had quite a positive effect on the music industry. For one it works as a way of creating new fans by exposing them to something new at no loss to them but at most an hour of their time in which they’re likely to be doing something else as well. If somebody gets something that really amazes them, more often than not they will attempt to seek a hard copy. Personally I wish I could buy more hard copies of music, but as I am a poor college student, my money is required for other things such as alcohol, cigarettes, and occasionally food. Another way it helps the music industry is it gives back to the fans and creates incentive to buy other things related to the artists such as merchandise or concert tickets, which in fact contribute more money to the band than buying a CD does.