Music Banter - View Single Post - Hello from VEGANGELICA
View Single Post
Old 06-15-2009, 07:34 AM   #20 (permalink)
VEGANGELICA
Facilitator

Default CHAPTER 5: Ethics

As the novel continues...

Hi, 333! I'm glad you've enjoyed the discussion and hope you have a good journey to Washington as you shift your educational interests. There are a lot of nasty ways plants die due to disease and infestation...so phytopathology is an area that will always be of major interest in biology and industry...especially if the impacts of climate change on diseases (of humans and plants) are as predicted. I'm glad you are able to have the freedom to figure out just where your interests are. I did my masters on soybeans' hypersensitive response, in which leaves undergo localized death around the site of infection to try to prevent the spread of bacteria (an interesting example of cells "sacrificing themselves" for the sake of the whole organism).

TORETORDEN...
Thanks again for the thoughtful reply. I've been visiting with my Norwegian and Swedish-American inlaws and, now that I have returned, can put more time into answering your questions and replying to your post.

ON THE ETHICS OF USING DOMESTICATED ANIMALS:
You asked: "Now I'm extrapolating to the point where it's ridiculous of course but I guess what I'm wondering is are you against milk when you think it causes suffering or are you always against it? If you had one industry which caused suffering to cows and one that had happy cows, could you as a vegan support the good one?"

When I was ovo-lacto vegetarian for 10 years, I made peace with drinking milk and eggs because I assumed cows and chickens weren't killed and were treated well, both of which I learned were incorrect for parts of their, or their children's, lifespans. Unfortunately, both the dairy and egg industry currently are based on harming animals...and I'll explain the reasons in a moment.