Music Banter - View Single Post - Learning the flute and recorder. Any tips?
View Single Post
Old 09-03-2009, 10:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Burning Down
The Music Guru.

Ok, since I've been playing classical flute for 13 years, I'll help you! The flute has a range from middle C to 3 octaves above that. Depending on the type of flute that you have, you may also be able to play the B below middle C. Some flutes can even stretch to 4 octaves! But I'm assuming that since you're a beginner, your flute has a range of 3 octaves. That's a HUGE range, one of the biggest in a concert band setting.

It is possible to learn the flute on your own but it is VERY hard because your technique needs to be precise. I've been playing all this time and still take lessons! But I also teach beginners. There are a couple of students I have who tried to learn on their own without very much success. How they were practising or what methods they were using, I don't know, but they are very competent players now.

I don't know if you can read music, but if you can I recommend buying beginner's tone books, scale books, and some simple, fun sheet music to make learning the flute more enjoyable. Books will help you in your journey. If you can't read music, that's okay too! Buy some of those books anyways, many will teach you the basics of music theory. Most of them will also have finger charts that will show you how to play each note. Beginner's charts are easy to read and follow!

Practise a little bit every day if you can, even if it's just for 30 minutes. This will help increase your lung capacity as the flute requires a lot of breath and strong lungs. Here's a little bit on practising from one of my many exercise books:

Quote:
These points about practising in general, are important:

(a) Practise the flute only because you want to; if you don't want to - don't! It is almost useless to spend your allocated practice time wishing that you weren't practising.