Music Banter - View Single Post - Learning Music Theory (Input Needed)
View Single Post
Old 11-16-2009, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
VEGANGELICA
Facilitator

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusicTyro View Post
I would like to get some input from the community about how you may have learned music theory and ear training.
Were you self-taught? Did you get private instruction or other instrument training?
Have you been fine without theory if you never formally learned?
Did you pick up on it right away, or did you have to really work at it?
What would've helped you pick up on it faster?
Was it a single method or did you learn from multiple experiences?
No need to answer the questions exactly as posted. Just some of the information I'm trying to gain.
I'd like to get as many different viewpoints as possible, as I'm going to be publishing a series of articles/learning tools on the subject.

Thanks!
Bret P.
Hi Bret,

Your question is one that interests me and should give rise to a fascinating article, since people and their learning styles and abilities are so different! I grew up playing Suzuki violin beginning at age 8, where the emphasis as you probably know is on hearing music and playing what you hear, before learning to read music. My Susuki teacher never taught much about music theory (such as what it means to say music is in a certain "key," or why different keys are major, minor, or named as they are). However, I certainly learned how to read music. And though I've given half-hearted attempts to learn and remember what "A major" means, I actually have never really experienced a pressing need to know this, and have managed to play in an orchestra for over 15 years quite successfully! I can hear and feel the difference between major and minor, and I can tell when the music shifts keys, even if I don't know what key it is in!