Music Banter - View Single Post - Learning the flute and recorder. Any tips?
View Single Post
Old 03-11-2010, 07:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Burning Down
The Music Guru.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RosePunk View Post
What kind of flute should I get?
Hey! Another flute player! I've been playing for 14 years - since I was 6!

Like bandteacher said, it depends on your skill level. The most common type of flute is the soprano flute, which is what a beginner flute player will start with. There are also piccolo, alto, bass, and contrabass flutes.

I remember using a student soprano flute (good for a beginner) that was made from a nickel-silver alloy metal. These flutes actually do not have any silver in them at all; instead it is nickel alloyed with zinc and copper (generally). Student flutes are usually silver or nickel plated. The silver won't corrode because it is glazed. It is the least expensive flute you can buy, ranging in price from $200 to $700. If you're going to buy one of these flutes, I suggest getting one that is silver plated. Nickel is very heavy, whereas silver is not.

I have two soprano flutes now. The one that I use the most is an intermediate level flute, good for a university student who has been playing for more than 5 or 6 years. My flute (and most of these flutes) is solid silver with chrome plating. The chrome plating is strictly for vanity as silver tarnishes over time. There are keys on my flute with holes in them. There are five holes in total - the thumb and pinkie keys are the only ones that do not have holes. These flutes also come with plugs that you can put in the holes, so your fingers will gradually get used to covering the holes. These flutes are fairly expensive - anywhere from $1500 to $5000. Mine cost $2500.