Music Banter - View Single Post - Joe Satriani - Overrated?
View Single Post
Old 07-03-2010, 06:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Railton
Groupie

Theory and teaching abilities:
Joe has an amazing amount of theoretical knowledge despite being self-taught. He is actually a theory expert. Not only on the guitar, but music in general.
Teaching?
Joe Satriani has the incredible gift of teaching. He is one of the most successful guitar teachers throughout the time. Some of his students has even caught a bigger fame and popularity than
Joe himself. Steve Vai and Kirk Hammett is two of the most successful persons he has taught.
That must describe some of his abilities

Song writing and creativity:
This is one of Joe specialities. It is really hard to describe as it is such a big subject, but I will try to explain some.
Satriani is a very all around music composer. He creates unique, unbelievable, beautiful pieces of music. He is really creative and loves to explore different types of music.
Joe Satriani is probably that instrumental guitarist who has explored the most types of music and played them.

Sound:
Joe is really a perfectionist regarding his sound. He spend a lot of time for getting the perfect sound for each song. And when you hear Satriani play then you know its him. His sound is really unique and amazingly warm. Nobody can reach that sound. I have heard a million covers of his songs on Youtube. Nobody has reached the right sound yet!

Style:
Joe has created his very own style of playing with a lot of feelings . Really unique and uncoverable. Many people have tried and still try to cover his songs. But no one can reach the exact same style, sound and emotional playing the way that Joe does. He can't be covered

Instruments:
Joe does not only play electric guitar. He also play a variety of other instrument such as acoustic guitar, piano, banjo, harmonica etc.
Harmonica:
The Extremist (1:00-1:21 and 3:18-end) YouTube - Joe Satriani - Tortured Emotionally On Stage (9 of 11)