Music Banter - View Single Post - Antonio's Music Dumping Ground
View Single Post
Old 07-21-2010, 05:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Antonio
VICTORY SCREEEEEEECH

MUSICAL REFLECTION: Music as a Language

I recall a saying I heard years ago when I started learning guitar. It said

“When you end a solo on the main note, it's like putting the period at the end of a sentence. And the more you add on to a solo is like adding more to what you're trying to say”.

This got me to thinking, can playing or listening to music be the same as speaking or hearing a language?

I mean, musical notes are in a way like letters of the alphabet. There’s a set number of them to use and while they aren’t endless, the different combinations that you make with what there is can be. Now, I’m not talking about lyrics here; what I‘m saying is that maybe the actual sounds (whether it be guitar, trumpet, vocals, etc) and how they interact with each other may be able to tell their own story and make you see what’s trying to be said. Really, when you listen to an album or a song and say, "oh this is sad" or "this is a very uplifting song", it's like the music is communicating it's ideas and effecting you the same way that someone who'd be giving you a compliment or yelling at you angrily would.

Really, if it was one, I think that music would be a language of expression rather than a language that puts it all out there clear as day. You feel what's trying to be said more than just in a literal understanding of the lyrics or theory of the notes.

Take the video for the song Paranoid Android by Radiohead for example: