Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   the velvet underground and Nico (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/15384-velvet-underground-nico.html)

tdoc210 04-17-2006 07:35 PM

the velvet underground and Nico
 
I like this album but it is not for everyone, its very different, and the screeching violin that john cale plays is not to be taken lightly by a new listener if u are new then get whiteheat/ white light much easier to get into.
mikeyds album score 10/10

Sunday Morning, good track, one of the softest on the record..no screeching violin or anything very subtle start to a not so subtle album 8/10

Im waitin for the man: very good track, still a little soft, but fast paced with good hooks its either about drug deals or gahye sex 9/10

femme fatale: another semi soft track, this one is odd cause its got nico singing it, but the music and lyrics are good, its about a heart breaker. 7/10

Venus in Furs: this song is the best song on the album, absolutley great, great sound, great feel surreal lyrics, and atmosphere 10/10

Run Run Run: an allright track, kinda get repetive but w/e good music 9/10

All tommorows partys: anothe one by Nico, def not fave song, its skippable but the musics good 6/10

Heroin: o my god this is a great song... the music just goes with the flow soundsjust what a heroin break down would sound like lovly lovely piece 10/10

there she goes again: god godd kinda filler but sounds like a prelude to here she comes now on the white light album....7/10

Ill be your mirror: aight another nico song the last one thank god, its all good though good music allright lyrics repetive unfortunatley 7/10

The black angels death song: aiiyte this one is def not for everyone but i like it, aiiyte this has a lot of noise just noise...violin screeches, but awesome lyrics and mood 10/10

eurpeon son: mainly instramental(purposfully mispelled) good avant garde music...lyrics cool 9/10

Kripes 04-17-2006 08:36 PM

This isn't a very well-written, or informative review. I have no idea what this album sounds like at all, and the song information wasn't the best.

tdoc210 04-17-2006 08:37 PM

fine be that way

bungalow 04-17-2006 08:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kripes
This isn't a very well-written, or informative review. I have no idea what this album sounds like at all, and the song information wasn't the best.

Post your reviews in here.
Include a picture of the album, year released, track listeing, and that should be good. They should all look uniform, even though different people will be writing them. This can turn out to be a great forum.

Urban Hat€monger ? 04-17-2006 08:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bungalowbill357
Post your reviews in here.
Include a picture of the album, year released, track listeing, and that should be good. They should all look uniform, even though different people will be writing them. This can turn out to be a great forum.

and a poll so other people can say if it`s any good.

Kripes 04-17-2006 08:40 PM

Dang, I'll have to edit them. Will do. :)

Oh yeah, The Death of Capitalism, it's just constructive criticism, no need to take offence. :)

bungalow 04-17-2006 08:41 PM

I didn't take offence.....you must mean The Death of Capitalism. Your review is perfect.

Kripes 04-17-2006 08:44 PM

Yeah, I'm sorry. I got mixed up.

Sneer 04-18-2006 02:47 AM

i think this album is stunning to be honest. considering at the time this album was made society was in the clutches of the easy-going, san franscisco hippie idealisms, its no wonder this album went unoticed on its release. it is ultimately a complete antithesis to everything the sixties stands for, though ironically it does use psychedelic chord progressions heavily throughout. john cale's manic, screetching use of the viola makes the atmosphere at times unbearable, lou reeds lyrics are dark yet in a very odd way endearing, while the rythmn section is sometimes non-existant yet other times immense, though its simplicity just adds to the originality. warhols production of this album is to be fair quite poor. yet its defficiencies make the album what it is. raw, edgy, unnerving and brilliant.

my personal rating - 9/10

speaking of cale, im soon going to write a review on the stooges debut.

hookers with machineguns 04-18-2006 04:58 PM

^I agree with the 9/10 rating as well, but for me, this album gets a lower rating with each exposure to it. I can't really explain, but the overall sound of the record was most intriguing at first listen, but then just drops off into something I have to be in a certain mood to listen to. I don't really get that kind of feeling with Lou Reed's Transformer or even the '69 album.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 AM.


© 2003-2022 Advameg, Inc.