Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Californication, Red Hot Chili Peppers, 1999 Warner Brothers (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/24203-californication-red-hot-chili-peppers-1999-warner-brothers.html)

MHDTV 08-04-2007 06:29 PM

Californication, Red Hot Chili Peppers, 1999 Warner Brothers
 
http://www.sleurink.nl/images/album_...humbs/880f.jpg

1. Around the World:
Amazing funky bass lines, violent dums, sexy lyrics, and a suprisingly good pop melody combine to make Around the World a perfect mix of funk, hard rock, pop, and rap. 9.5/10

2. Parallel Universe:
Great lyrics, nice guitar, original premise(Rare these days), and the first signs of Kiedis vocal makeover turn a strange concept into an amazing song. 10/10

3. Scar Tissue:
As the first straight up pop song the Peppers have ever written, this makes you wonder why they didn't start earlier. One of Kiedis best vocal to date is helped by another good lyrical performance, and vintage Frusciante guitar. A standout track. 10/10

4. Otherside:
Eery lyrics, great atmosphere-creating instrumentals, are offset by a beat that just doesn't fit the song. 8.5/10

5. Get On Top:
Rather strange lyrics and vocals, probably the most un-melodic track on the album. Not that that's a bad thing. 8.3/10

6. Californication:
Atmospheric guitar, and uncharacteristic lyrics and make the title track an odd one, once again hinting a change of direction for the funkiest white guys on the planet. Makes you think. 8.5/10

7. Easily-:
the best lyrics ever by Kiedis. Great bass from Flea, and aggresive drumming from Chad Smith. 9.5/10

8. Porcelain:
An absolute chang-up after the firey Easily. A rather beautiful, endearing work. 9/10

9. Emit Remmus:
Summer time folks! Great bass, sarcastic, scornful lyrics. Consider it a sequel(Lyrically) to Californication. 9/10

10. I Like Dirt:
Pure funk. Back to basics for the peppers. Pretty good.
8.5/10

11. This Velvet Glove:
The hardest song on the album. Haven't figured out what it's about yet.
8/10

12. Savior:
Strange and outlandish, my least favorite track. Corny lyrics.
7/10.

13. Purple Stain:
Great flow, no melody for parts. Then goes to ultra melodic. Love it!
10/10.

14. Right On Time:
Absolutely searing, the lyrics seem to tumble out. Impressive vocal and instumental transitions.
10/10

15. Road Trippin':
Slightly prog influenced. Beautiful melody and lyrics. Absolutely perfect.
10/10

Then there are the bonus tracks:
Fat Dance:
Really cool song!
Overfunk:
Meh, not so great.
Quixoticelixer:
My favorite Peppers song. 10/10(Only bonus track included in the review)

Overall rating: 9.1125

boo boo 08-04-2007 07:36 PM

Road Trippin' prog???????? O_O

Sounds like just a sappy ballad to me. IMO the weakest song on the album. But still an awesome album overall. Though I find your review to be a bit too brief.

MHDTV 08-04-2007 07:47 PM

Listen to it a bit more. It grows on you.

Frances 08-04-2007 09:00 PM

Ok from me. I do really like a few songs from this (they seem to be the ones you like least, Saviour, Get On Top) but overall in comparison to BSSM it does very little for me.
I prefer the old peppers. Maw.

sleepy jack 08-04-2007 09:03 PM

Scar Tissue a 10 star song? uhh...

MHDTV 08-04-2007 09:03 PM

Have you heard the first and third bonus tracks? Among the Chili Peppers best. Savior is just stupid, IMO.

MHDTV 08-04-2007 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crowquill (Post 386137)
Scar Tissue a 10 star song? uhh...

You're in the minority in disagreement there man.

Frances 08-04-2007 09:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MHDTV (Post 386139)
You're in the minority in disagreement there man.

I'm with Crowquill.

littledude 08-04-2007 09:07 PM

fantastic album, one of my all time favs.

MHDTV 08-04-2007 09:09 PM

Exactly Frances! There is a poll guys.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 PM.


2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.