Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   The Beatles Revolver (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/34997-beatles-revolver.html)

jazzrocks 11-30-2008 10:57 PM

The Beatles Revolver
 
One of the greatest Pop Albums?

You have so many elements so uncommon in pop music. You have the complex time signatures of "Good Day Sunshine" and "She Said She Said".

"Eleanor Rigby" classical chamber music with vocals and its in the rare Dorian Mode

"I"m Only Sleeping" uses a planned guitar solo written and recorded backwards

"And Your Bird Can Sing" has the pre-Queen sound of unison twin guitar attack

"For No One" classically influenced song with the use of the ancient instrument of the clavichord.

"I Want to Tell You" a nice quirky song that uses intentional dissonance

"Love You To" the first example of Non Western music form in rhythm, instrumentation and style.

"Tomorrow Never Knows" Harmonically based on Indian Music and classical avant music. It brings classical avant techniques, backward sound collages, tape loops with a upfront drum 'n' bass sound into a listenable pop song. Truly groundbreaking and ahead of its time.

ms_darth 12-17-2008 03:30 AM

Eleanor rigby was one of my fave songs. Incredible arrangement and voice. I salute the Fab four.

ya_ba 12-19-2008 10:22 AM

I agree that there are many elements that are rarely used in pop music nowadays, but The Beatles are the only reason I'm not afraid to say that I enjoy pop.
They were, and still are, incredibly popular, which makes them pop.
So... Yeah - they are quality music, but pop nonetheless.

gopaldev 01-26-2009 01:38 PM

Classic album. One of their best and foreshadows the cosmic experimentation that was to soon follow on Sgt.Pepper. Always bittersweet because soon after, they were no longer writing and jamming together in good spirits but working separately, tiffing, and having the weight of the world on their shoulders which was the unwanted price of being the world's biggest attraction.

tore 01-28-2009 02:50 AM

You have some interesting notes concerning the songs, but the overall review seems a little skimpy for such an acclaimed album. Also, you've forgotten to include the release year, 1966.

BLHewitt 01-29-2009 02:30 PM

fav. anyone heard the outtakes from it?

jacklovezhimself 02-08-2009 09:46 PM

Every time I listen to Eleanore Rigby I think about watching it in yellow submarine.

TRIPPIEST SHIIT EVER.

ninaNirvana 02-09-2009 09:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jazzrocks (Post 555544)
One of the greatest Pop Albums?

Yes!!

Quote:

Originally Posted by jazzrocks (Post 555544)
"Tomorrow Never Knows" Harmonically based on Indian Music and classical avant music. It brings classical avant techniques, backward sound collages, tape loops with a upfront drum 'n' bass sound into a listenable pop song. Truly groundbreaking and ahead of its time.

I concur 100%. "Tomorrow Never Knows" was truly before its time. The engineers at EMI worked with George Martin to develop an automatic double tracking prototype to record Lennon's vocals as well with working with Leslie Speaker cabinets for processing Lennon's voice.

What is amazing about "Tomorrow Never Knows" is that so many other bands/artists have covered the song...from David Lee Roth to Phil Collins. I think the song lends itself to many imaginative re-interpretations; thus proving how "before its time" the song is. The lyrics, derived mainly from The Tibetan Book Of The Dead, are still poignant today. I especially love the version MRI did on Where Parallel Lines Meet ( just released ) It is interesting to see that MRI brings in a political and social commentary angle into their 'rock-techno' rendition with all the George Bush audio quotes. I'm going to write an album review soon for Parallel where I will discuss "Tomorrow Never Knows" in more detail and use segments of the MRI interview from December where they discuss their fondness for The Beatles.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


© 2003-2021 Advameg, Inc.