Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Classic Country Albums (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/42770-classic-country-albums.html)

Bulldog 07-27-2009 04:40 AM

Personally, I couldn't recommend the Byrds' Sweetheart Of the Rodeo enough to anyone who's yet to get into classic country - it's the first such album that truly clicked with me anyway.

Had a listen to Mama Tried the other day FC - I liked what I heard but I can't find this album anywhere though (as I'd expected), so I got some best of other I found instead.

Looking forward to your next review :)

Son of JayJamJah 07-27-2009 01:59 PM

Classic Country music is easily one of the most overlooked genres within these boards.

I'm certain this thread will be a wonderful edition to the site, I always loved the complete lack of expression on the faces of classic country artists like Haggard, Conway Twitty or George Jones.

I spent a lot of time listening to Country Music in the early ninties and still have a little affection left for it.

Flower Child 07-27-2009 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DJB1975 (Post 709887)
No Other - Gene Clark (1974)

In my top 25 of all time.

Classic

Oh really, I had never heard of Gene Clark before but I'll look into it, thanks.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jackhammer (Post 710025)
I will say with all sincerity that Country music has always been associated with a certain image and in Britain especially it barely gets the time of day. This is probably because that if Country does make it's way through the musical barriers then it will ostensibly be watered down 2 nd rate crap A la Garth Brooks or Dolly Partons tits!

However, I have been doing my own digging into the genre over the past year or so and have found a rich and diverse genre of music that while it's not neccessarily conducive to myself, I have still come to appreciate many artists and albums.

Some of my picks may not even fall into the category, for which I apologise:

Alison Krauss & Union Station-Lonely Runs Both Ways
Dixie Chicks-Home
Dwight Yoakam- Best Of
Great Lake Swimmers-Lost Channels
Jim White-Wrong Eyed Jesus
Lambchop-OH(ohio)
Lucero-Tennesee
William Eliott Whitmore-Animals In The Dark

I see what you mean, Jackhammer. Well, I will try to do my best to get you into some of these old classic country boys so you can spread the good word around Britain for me! I hope I havent scared you off with Johnny Paycheck though! haha. I recognize the first three on your list, though, honestly, I'm not crazy about them. Still need to look into the others, you have me very curious about them.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Bulldog (Post 710239)
Personally, I couldn't recommend the Byrds' Sweetheart Of the Rodeo enough to anyone who's yet to get into classic country - it's the first such album that truly clicked with me anyway.

Had a listen to Mama Tried the other day FC - I liked what I heard but I can't find this album anywhere though (as I'd expected), so I got some best of other I found instead.

Looking forward to your next review :)

Feel free to do a review over the Byrds' Sweetheart of the Rodeo if you want to. I absolutly love the Byrds, but actually much more familiar with their hippie-er albums. Thanks for mentioning it because after I get off here, I'm gonna go check it out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JayJamJah (Post 710420)
Classic Country music is easily one of the most overlooked genres within these boards.

I'm certain this thread will be a wonderful edition to the site, I always loved the complete lack of expression on the faces of classic country artists like Haggard, Conway Twitty or George Jones.

I spent a lot of time listening to Country Music in the early ninties and still have a little affection left for it.

hahaha! I know! Boy they aren't the easiest to look at either. Especially George Jones. Did you know he had the nickname "possum"? I heard on the news the other day that Conway Twitty broke his hip when he was performing on stage in Branson. I didn't even know the poor guy was still alive. But anyway, glad to hear you have an interest in this type of music. I've been racking my brain as to which album I'm going to review next.

WWWP 07-27-2009 06:26 PM

I love your reviews. I don't have much to say about them, but I enjoy reading them. :)

Flower Child 07-28-2009 08:02 AM

Good, glad your diggin it WWWP :thumb:

Bulldog 07-28-2009 08:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flower Child (Post 710557)
Feel free to do a review over the Byrds' Sweetheart of the Rodeo if you want to. I absolutly love the Byrds, but actually much more familiar with their hippie-er albums. Thanks for mentioning it because after I get off here, I'm gonna go check it out.

Might do that sometime soon actually (in a seperate thread of course :)). It's an album made mostly of covers and the only Byrds album to feature Gram Parsons as a member. Definitely worth a shot.

Flower Child 07-28-2009 09:44 AM

Willie and Family Live
Willie Nelson
1978

http://media.musictoday.com/store/ba...um/MUDD255.JPG

I'm just going start this off by saying Willie and Family Live is by far my FAVORITE classic country album. I have always leaned toward Willie because of pure superior talent he has compared to all the other outlaws and classic country artists. Guys like Willie Nelson don't come around too often. He really has the whole package. Amazing guitar skills with a very distinct Willie sound. Unique vocals, almost to a fault because many people dislike his voice. Emotional, heartfelt, and imaginative songwriting that cannot be touched by any other in this genre. And finally, a perfect band to complete his sound. I would say that you could not make any opinions about Willie Nelson's music unless you have listened to this album from beginning to end.

Willie and Family Live was a live concert in '78 performed by Willie and his band in Lake Tahoe, Nevada. His band consisted of his sister Bobbie Nelson on piano, Paul English on drums with help from Rex Ludwig, Mickey Raphael on harmonica (who I think is one of the best harmonica players out there), Jody Payne on guitar, and Chris Ethridge on bass. Most of these band members are still in Willie's band to this day. Also there are guest appearances from Johnny Paycheck and Emmylou Harris.

This album makes very minimal pauses. Its very interesting because Willie likes to go from one song and transition it right into the next so there is very little slowing down. Willie goes from sweet lyrical love songs on this album to ripping up his guitar and singing his voice hoarse with songs about whiskey and drugs. Its quite an experience, this album is, and I think its Willie Nelson at his best.

I could probably write a novel about every one of these songs, but I'll keep it as short as I can because there are 29 tracks.....Yeah, I know.

Whiskey River One Willie's trademark songs and he always starts and ends with this song at his concerts no matter what. Those first few guitar chords and and Mickey's harmonica gets the energy flowing and tell you right off that this is going to be a great album.

Stay A Little Longer Willie packs this concert with little one, two or three minute songs. This is one of those little songs. Some overwhelmingly good guitar playing in this one.

Funny How Time Slips Away Now this is what I'm talking about when I say he has some beautifully written songs. One of my favorites on the album.

Crazy This is a song that Willie wrote for Patsy Cline and it was one of the songs that made her famous. I still think Willie sings it better

Night Life Willie loves jazz and it has influenced his music in a huge way. This song is one that really incoorperates that jazz influence in there. This song goes from huge wild jams to a complete stop with Wilie throwing out a soft little lyric then continuing on with that massive jam of instruments.

If You've Got the Money I've Got the Time This is a fun carefree song that just cracks me up.

Mamma's Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys Good, but just not the same without Waylon

I Can Get Off On You I think the lyrics say it all in this one. I don't know if its 100% true though haha.

If You Can Touch Her at All This is one of those sweet lyrical love songs I was talking about. My favorite song on the album. I want to post the lyrics but they just reading the lyrics does this song no justice because its the way Willie sings them that makes them so special. A jewel of a song that really heats up the album.

Good Hearted Woman Good, but not the same without Waylon

Red Headed Stranger ATTENTION!! A must listen song. Actually, this is not a song, but more a like a story and a journey Willie takes you on. I think this song deserves some sort of genius award because it is truely a 14 minute musical masterpiece. I cannot really descibe this song very well because it is like nothing I have ever heard before.

Under The Double Eagle An great fast paced instrumental that has each musician take their turn and do a solo and show off what they can do.

Till I Gain Control Again Beautifully performed by the band and this song features Emmylou Harris doing the female vocals.

Bloody Mary Morning A very fast paced song and the beginning is great. Alot of Willie Nelson's songs have to do with this subject it seems haha.

I'm A Memory Only a 1:52 long, but packs a punch with its lyrics. And the band plays in great harmony, in this one especially.

Mr. Record Man Another real short one but this one is so sad. I have to go back and listen to this one a few times when I play this album, just because this song is so good, but its so short.

Hello Walls Mr. Record Man blends right into this one and you hardy notice the change of song. And I just can't get over the clever songwriting by Willie. Just look at these lyrics and tell me that they don't break your heart.

Hello walls,
How'd things go for you today?
Don't you miss her.
Since she up and walked away?
And I'll bet you dread to spend another lonely night with me,
But lonely walls, I'll keep you company.

Hello window,
Well, I see that you're still here.
Aren't you lonely,
Since our darlin disappeared?
Well look here, is that a teardrop in the corner of your pane?
Now don't you try to tell me that's it's rain.

She went away and left us all alone the way she planned.
Guess we'll have to learn to get along without her if we can.

Hello ceiling,
I'm gonna stare at you a while.
You know I can't sleep,
So won't you bear with me a while?
We gotta all stick together or else I'll lose my mind.
I gotta feelin' she'll be gone a long, long time.


I Live One Day At a Time Well, this is just another great one what can I say. So simple but so thought provoking, just like his others.

Will The Circle Be Unbroken These both kinda suck though. Not because of the band or anything, just because they are boring.
Amazing Grace

Take This Job and Shove It Heres where Johnny Paycheck makes his appearance. This song just cracks me up, especially since this is the live version and Johnny doesn't hold back on any cussing, he just singing the way he wants too. He even changes the lyrics halfway through and bellows "Take this job and stick it!!!!" And the crowd just roars.

Uncloudy Day Back to the real talent, Willie just shreds his guitar with the beginning of this song and is one of my favorite jams that is on this album.

The Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line Mickey Raphael, the harmonica player, absolutely shines in this one. I don't know where the band would be without this guy, he is really skilled with that harmonica and he adds little effects in there that make such a impact with the atmosphere of the song. He also helps give the band that recognizable Willie Nelson sound.

A Song For You Willie's guitar pretty much speaks in this one. When he sings "listen to the melody for my love is in their hiding" and then plays that amazing little guitar solo, it gives me goosebumps. And he sings the lyrics spot on, never overcooking them.

Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms This song is a complete switch in mood and it makes for a good change, though the song itself is nothing special

Georgia On My Mind A very nice rendition of this beautiful song. Soft, simple and just what it is supposed to sound like. But as you can hear in the audience, it is all they can do to sit through this sweet mushy stuff.

Gotta Get Drunk On the other hand, this song is just what the crowd was waiting to hear. A rowdy song about Willie's poor ol habits that about everyone could relate to. The song is actually pretty hilarious.

Well I gotta get drunk and I sure do dread it cause I know just what I'm gonna do
I'll start to spend my money call everybody honey and wind up singing the blues
I'll spend my whole paycheck on some old wreck
brother I can name you a few
But I gotta get drunk and I sure do dread it cause I know just what I'm gonna do

I gotta get drunk I just can't stay sober there's a lot of good people in town
Who'd like to hear me holler see me spend my dollars
And I wouldn't think of lettin' 'em down
There's a lot of doctors that tell me
that I'd better start slowin' it down
But there's more old drunkers than there are old doctors
So I guess we'd better have another round


Whiskey River Gotta Get Drunk warmed the band up pretty good so this version of Whiskey River is a little wilder and all over the place than at the beginning. The crowd is yelling and screaming and going crazy during this one I might add.

The Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line They blend Whiskey River right into this one and it makes for a great ending to a great album.

Flower Child 07-29-2009 12:24 PM

You guys better download these cause they took me forever to upload, haha. I loaded a few of my personal favorites, and Whiskey River of course.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/w2fzyqnwgef/11 Red Headed Stranger.m4a

http://www.mediafire.com/file/tydqjyxz2uj/05 Hello Walls.m4a

http://www.mediafire.com/file/nxzmuynnwoi/2-11 The Only Daddy That'll Walk The.m4a

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mdnozzjegy3/12 Whiskey River.m4a

http://www.mediafire.com/file/tyne0xniecy/09 If You Could Touch Her At All.m4a

iamnotacamera 07-29-2009 12:53 PM

Haven't been here in a while, good thread. I'd enjoy reading reviews on:

Buck Owens - Discography
Townes Van Zandt - Discography
Waylon Jennings - The Taker/Tulsa or Lonesome, On'ry And Mean
Guy Clark - Old No. 1
David Allan Coe - Once Upon A Rhyme
Emmylou Harris - Elite Hotel

As for recent material, the genre's mainstream branch has essentially become a blend of pop-rock and overly polished country. Far too glossy and soulless for me personally, so the real gems lie in alt-country with acts such as Richard Buckner, Whiskeytown, 16 Horsepower, and so on leading the way.

Flower Child 08-04-2009 08:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by iamnotacamera (Post 711283)
Haven't been here in a while, good thread. I'd enjoy reading reviews on:

Buck Owens - Discography
Townes Van Zandt - Discography
Waylon Jennings - The Taker/Tulsa or Lonesome, On'ry And Mean
Guy Clark - Old No. 1
David Allan Coe - Once Upon A Rhyme
Emmylou Harris - Elite Hotel

As for recent material, the genre's mainstream branch has essentially become a blend of pop-rock and overly polished country. Far too glossy and soulless for me personally, so the real gems lie in alt-country with acts such as Richard Buckner, Whiskeytown, 16 Horsepower, and so on leading the way.

I'll see what I can do good buddy



Man, it seems my Willie and Family Live album went over like a screen door on a submarine :( , but don't give up on me guys I'm working on my next review


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 AM.


2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.