Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Oingo Boingo - Dead Man's Party (1985) (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/92985-oingo-boingo-dead-mans-party-1985-a.html)

Smithdude 12-24-2018 02:51 PM

Oingo Boingo - Dead Man's Party (1985)
 
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped...arty_album.jpg
Dead Man's Party is probably Oingo Boingo's most well known album (and song). Though, it still isn't very well known since the band was always too weird to be played anywhere. But hey, Oingo Boingo was referenced to in the anime: JoJo's Bizzare Adventure, so that was neat.
Anyway, this is a great album full of great songs! My favorite track is probably Just Another Day, which was played in the first episode of Stranger Things season 2. The album as a whole is pretty much a sarcastic take on death.
So, the album is very good. Listen to it if you like.. Music. 96/100.

OccultHawk 12-24-2018 02:59 PM

I saw them shortly after this was released and the audience was absolutely nuts!

Smithdude 12-24-2018 04:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OccultHawk (Post 2027493)
I saw them shortly after this was released and the audience was absolutely nuts!

dang that's awesome, I wish they would still play so I could see them.

Smithdude 12-24-2018 07:07 PM

by the way I noticed I made a typo in the title, should be "Oingo Boingo."
anyone know how to edit titles or is it impossible?

grindy 12-25-2018 05:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smithdude (Post 2027572)
by the way I noticed I made a typo in the title, should be "Oingo Boingo."
anyone know how to edit titles or is it impossible?

Done.

Smithdude 12-26-2018 06:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by grindy (Post 2027623)
Done.

Thanks!

swamptoad 12-26-2018 08:22 PM

Dead Man's Party was also a song that was played in a scene from the 80s movie "Back To School" (Rodney Dangerfield) that also featured the band Oingo Boingo. I also enjoy the music of Oingo Boingo to another 80s excellent movie written and directed by John Hughes called "Weird Science."

Danny Elfman, singer, of Oingo Boingo (a band that delved into musical experimentation and exploration -mixed eclectic styles of rock, pop, ska and world music) is also notable for composing the theme music to the television series "The Simpsons", and the movies where he teamed up with Tim Burton: "Pee Wee's Big Adventure" and "Beetlejuice" ...who would have even thought that such a cool band went to inspire so many others?


Other bands that Oingo Boingo have been known to inspire include: Mr. Bungle, Nirvana, and Fishbone according to a Wikipedia page.

OccultHawk 12-26-2018 08:30 PM

Back to School is one of my favorite movies. I love the Kurt Vonnegut cameo. 5/5

https://media.giphy.com/media/l4HoeV...fJII/giphy.gif

rostasi 12-26-2018 09:01 PM

Wife's a big fan of Oingo Boingo and saw them live in their heyday,
but the major performer I associate with them is the great percussionist
William Winant who's an incredible performer of modern experimental
and contemporary classical works.

Plankton 12-27-2018 09:10 AM

Great tune:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CZCKP-H4C8


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 AM.


© 2003-2021 Advameg, Inc.