Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Avant Garde/Experimental (https://www.musicbanter.com/avant-garde-experimental/)
-   -   Opinions on Richard Dawson - Nothing Important? (https://www.musicbanter.com/avant-garde-experimental/80398-opinions-richard-dawson-nothing-important.html)

OccultHawk 01-03-2015 01:43 PM

Opinions on Richard Dawson - Nothing Important?
 
Hits me like a cross between John Fahey and Smog and weirder than either. It's going to take more listens to tell for sure but this has made a positive first impression on me.

Rowan Weaver 01-21-2015 01:13 AM

I've only heard Wooden Bag so far, but man I love weak male voices. Seriously. Phil Elvrum is my love.

But yeah, the not only minimal, but simple instrumentation, the odd structure, the use of rest, the composition outside his range, this guys pretty cool. I'll keep him in mind.

Frownland 06-15-2016 01:34 PM

Nothing Important and The Magic Bridge have become a couple of my most listened albums lately. Really good ****, I'd say he's like a cross between Bill Orcutt, Captain Beefheart, and traditional Irish folk music. Fahey is clearly a strong influence too.

OccultHawk 06-15-2016 01:48 PM

I don't even remember making this thread or ever listening to this artist.

Frownland 06-15-2016 01:53 PM

Take a gander. It's on Spotify too.


Chula Vista 06-15-2016 01:53 PM

He really did like kissing the ladies!

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-wFi7O8-a6_...Kissing600.jpg

Frownland 06-15-2016 01:56 PM

Steve Harvey making fun of honkies > Creepy Dick

OccultHawk 10-19-2019 01:16 PM

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped..._Important.jpg

This is ****ing unassailable

Nothing Important by Richard Dawson

deserves the bump and hella more love

Frownland 10-19-2019 06:30 PM

Agreed. His recent explorations in playing with a band are great listens, but his solo work is still his strongest imo and Nothing Important is the most refined album reflecting what he's capable of. Kind of makes sense to move on like he has after making the statement of Nothing Important.

Even though it's less consistent, The Magic Bridge has his strongest songs, particularly Grandad's Deathbed Hallucinations, Wooden Bag, the title track, and Black Dog in the Sky.

Kristian_Cole 04-17-2020 01:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OccultHawk (Post 2084606)
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped..._Important.jpg

This is ****ing unassailable

Nothing Important by Richard Dawson

deserves the bump and hella more love

Well that were dark, borderline jandek :bowdown:


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.


© 2003-2021 Advameg, Inc.