Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Games, Lists, Jokes and Polls (https://www.musicbanter.com/games-lists-jokes-polls/)
-   -   Reviewing a pile of VHS tapes I found by a dumpster (https://www.musicbanter.com/games-lists-jokes-polls/92540-reviewing-pile-vhs-tapes-i-found-dumpster.html)

Oriphiel 09-25-2018 07:24 PM

Reviewing a pile of VHS tapes I found by a dumpster
 
They were there and I was bored. And yes, I do actually have a VHS player, because of course I do.

Here's the first one from the pile:

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....EL._SY445_.jpg

Over two hours of blank verse? Hell yes. Bring it on, bitch.

All the classic Shakespeare-isms are here. A devious bastard son, a clever clown that makes everyone look like stupid assholes, a sad guy bemoaning the shittiness of human nature, etc.

Oh, and a guy gets his eyes ripped out, which is always great. And then he tries to kill himself by jumping off a cliff, somehow survives, and is just like "Well, shit."

The guy who plays the lead role is awesome, fills all of his scenes with energy.

The actresses who play the two eldest daughters are fun. Perfectly capture the essence of the overtly conniving bitchqueen within.

Good times. Great performances. Neither my favorite of Shakespeare's plays, nor the many film adaptations, but still aight.

Zhanteimi 09-25-2018 07:37 PM

I've seen plenty of Lear, even having seen the RSC perform it live, and have yet to find myself liking the play. I just don't care for it. It goes on too long, in my opinion, for madness to be a gripping theme. My most recent viewing of the play was Ian McKellan's version.

Oriphiel 09-25-2018 07:47 PM

Aye, twas a bit overwrought. 90% of that part during the storm could've been clipped. And the blinded guy recognizing the King's voice but not his own son's was kinda lol.

Oriphiel 09-26-2018 06:47 AM

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....1AZ0TXZK2L.jpg

Jesus ****ing christ. One minute in, and I'm already rolling. Why the **** haven't I ever watched this before?

Hilarious parody of thinly veiled propaganda war movies, while also a great war movie in its own right. Super entertaining. Instant favorite.

YorkeDaddy 09-26-2018 07:00 AM

why were you by a dumpster

and where was this dumpster by

I'm confused on multiple levels here

Psy-Fi 09-26-2018 07:08 AM

Was there any porn in the pile? :pimp:

simplephysics 09-26-2018 07:24 AM

I can't do VHS anymore. I tried to rewatch some of my old Disney movies and the quality was so terrible I wished for death.

simplephysics 09-26-2018 07:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Psy-Fi (Post 2000212)
Was there any porn in the pile? :pimp:

This is important.

MicShazam 09-26-2018 07:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oriphiel (Post 2000207)
https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....1AZ0TXZK2L.jpg

Jesus ****ing christ. One minute in, and I'm already rolling. Why the **** haven't I ever watched this before?

Hilarious parody of thinly veiled propaganda war movies, while also a great war movie in its own right. Super entertaining. Instant favorite.

You also gotta watch Verhoeven's most hated film, Showgirls. What people seem to miss is that you gotta watch it the same way you watch Starship Troopers. It couldn't be more tongue in cheek if it tried.

Oriphiel 09-26-2018 07:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by YorkeDaddy (Post 2000210)
why were you by a dumpster

and where was this dumpster by

I'm confused on multiple levels here

My apartment complex has two big dumpsters in the parking lot (one for trash, the other for recycling). And what was I gonna do, not embrace my inner Dude111 and save those poor abandoned tapes?

And nah, there wasn't any porn. Or maybe someone just swiped all dat sweet smut before I found the pile. I hear once someone hits Level 20 with the Perv class, they can sense whenever there's porn by a nearby dumpster.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.