Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   General Music (https://www.musicbanter.com/general-music/)
-   -   Mini-Review The Song Above You (https://www.musicbanter.com/general-music/51924-mini-review-song-above-you.html)

James 10-10-2010 01:17 PM

Mini-Review The Song Above You
 
So, somebody posts a youtube link of a song they've been listening to recently and the person below them writes a short paragraph of their thoughts along with a rating. They then post a youtube link to another song and the person below them writes their thoughts etc.
Saw this on another forum I was lurking on today and thought it could be good fun, hope it takes off. It can also help introduce you to new music.

So mine.
YouTube - The Sonics - The Witch (1964)

Janszoon 10-10-2010 01:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by James (Post 941206)
So, somebody posts a youtube link of a song they've been listening to recently and the person below them writes a short paragraph of their thoughts along with a rating. They then post a youtube link to another song and the person below them writes their thoughts etc.
Saw this on another forum I was lurking on today and thought it could be good fun, hope it takes off. It can also help introduce you to new music.

So mine.
YouTube - The Sonics - The Witch (1964)

I dig it. I've never listened to the Sonics but they sound like a band I'd dig. Not only does the singer have a great voice but I particularly like that little guitar solo at about 1:40.

Here's one I've been a fan of since last year but I've found myself revisiting a lot recently...

Electric Wizard—"The Chosen Few" (2007)

Unfortunately it looks like embedding this isn't working so you'll have to click here to listen to it.

Dayvan Cowboy 10-10-2010 01:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Janszoon (Post 941212)
Here's one I've been a fan of since last year but I've found myself revisiting a lot recently...

Electric Wizard—"The Chosen Few"

Unfortunately it looks like embedding this isn't working so you'll have to click here to listen to it.

^8/10. It has quite the atmosphere. I love how the guitar completely overshadows the vocals, and makes it sound absolutely huge. I'll be checking it out :).


VHS Head - Remote Control (2010)
YouTube - VHS Head - Remote control

TheFolkslave 10-10-2010 02:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dayvan Cowboy (Post 941217)
^8/10. It has quite the atmosphere. I love how the guitar completely overshadows the vocals, and makes it sound absolutely huge. I'll be checking it out :).


VHS Head - Remote Control (2010)
YouTube - VHS Head - Remote control

Really nice IDM right here. Made me want to dance(roll) epileptically all over the room. Haven't heard about this band before but this made me want to check them out.

Bluebridge Quartet - Karp (2007)
YouTube - Bluebridge Quartet - Karp

embedding doesn't seem to work :confused:

OctaneHugo 10-10-2010 03:21 PM

Not bad. Kind of boring that all it did for 3 1/2 minutes was the same guitar notes and some drumming, not as jazzy as I thought it'd be and that was disappointing.

YouTube - Whitehouse - Ruthless Babysitting

Charlemagne 10-10-2010 04:01 PM

I couldn't get through it. The beat was too repetitive and seemed to have absolutely no form whatsoever, it was just very random. The vocals also irritated me, too grating and loud. 2/10


loveissucide 10-10-2010 04:18 PM

OK, nothing overly memorable about it in the indie-rock world, although the vocals were decent enough

James 10-10-2010 04:29 PM

The only Steely Dan song I know, i've always wanted to investigate the band more and I may just do that tonight as this song impressed me. I love his vocals he has a perfect voice for the accompianing music.
YouTube - John Zorn Batman

clutnuckle 10-10-2010 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by James (Post 941282)

I've always found this song to be very thoughtfully composed for a two-minute excursion. Mild soloing from every instrument in the stratosphere all surrounding a very addictive theme. The chaotic section about 45 seconds from the end gets me going every time.

I especially like it in its place on the album as things only get weirder from therein if you ask me...

YouTube - Tim Buckley - I Woke Up


ThePhanastasio 10-10-2010 06:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clutnuckle (Post 941283)

I've certainly been listening to my fair share of Tim Buckley as of late, although I've predominately been focusing on the Goodbye and Hello album. This is likewise delightful. His more "psych-folk" compositions are what tend to draw my interest, and his voice along with the instrumentation on the track make this a really wonderful listening experience. Unlike many of my peers, I prefer Tim Buckley's music to his son's.

CocoRosie - Good Friday


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.


2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.