Music Banter - View Single Post - The Beatles
Thread: The Beatles
View Single Post
Old 12-27-2007, 07:13 PM   #476 (permalink)
sleepy jack
isfckingdead

Quote:
Originally Posted by fanofthefab4 View Post
You are Very *WRONG* and biased and closeminded but it really doesn't matter that much because most musicians including many well known ones recognize that Paul McCartney was the most virtuoso and great multi-instrumentalist of The Beatles! His father was a self taught accomplished jazz musician and leader of his own band that were popular in clubs in the 1930's and Paul's father was the leader of the band,Jim Mac's band and he wrote some instrumental music too! Those lists mean a lot when many other bass greats like Stanley Clarke,Sting,Will Lee,Billy Sheehan John Sarratt etc all say that Paul McCartney is one of the best bass players ever! And the lists show most people agree!
What the bloody hell does his father have to do with how good of a musician Paul is? Being a super talented musician doesn't mean as much as being a good songwriter. Who's more known Bob Dylan or Steve Vai? Bob Dylan, who's the better musician? Well obviously Steve Vai, but does that make him better? Nope, George Harrison proved with his solo albums to be a much more capable songwriter than McCartney. He wrote a bunch of great songs sure but that's because he had Harrison and Lennon with him. Paul's solo career has been pretty laughable.

Quote:
On Wikipedia The Fre online encyclopedia which is just one of many sources,it defines Paul McCartney as one of the best singers,song writers
That's something that is completely subjective and isn't up for wikipedia to decide.

Quote:
and an award winning multi-instrumentalist but it does describe George as a muslti-instrumentalist!
Okay...so they're both multi-instrumentalist. That puts them on a level playing field.

Quote: