Music Banter - View Single Post - For the drummers
View Single Post
Old 06-22-2009, 02:58 PM   #21 (permalink)
Sam-Y
Groupie

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkloring View Post
hmm... well im a synth drummer, does that count? i use FPC and live* drum synths... when i reach 15 posts and i can actually posts links or videos or whatever ill post some of my totally epic drum *synth* solos =P
Synth drummer eh? That counts. After all, you are still trying to produce beats...maybe you'll have an upper hand when it comes to producing "melodies" with the synth drums.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamikazi Kat View Post
You can produce melodies with drumming. Drumming is not only about creating beats, its also about crafting unique sounding and textured sounds and rhythms. Of course "melodic" drumming is different from melodies produced from a guitar, but I believe there is much more to percussion then just "keeping the beat," even when you are the one that is the rhythmic backbone.

I understand what you mean though when you have a desire to create the sound more heard and recognized in a band, especially when the kind of music you guys most likely play is rock where the drums "keep the beat" attitude is very strong.

For a portable drumming alternative, you could beat box .
It is definitely possible to take drums to the level where you can play solo and produce melodies in a sense. The problem is, like you state, when you play in a band (especially with rock music), you won't have that freedom because you'll be labeled "fancy" and plus, it might not even work out. I'm starting to conclude that as a drummer in a band, you are limited as opposed to just a drummer. So you said it lol.

Beat box? If you're going to beat box, then you might as well put the beats on the drums .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neapolitan View Post
Why are most songs in 4/4 time signature?

Because four is the highest number drummers can count to [pid dat dat - crash]
I hate you. lol

Quote: