Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   By The Way - Red hot Chili Peppers (2002) (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/25374-way-red-hot-chili-peppers-2002-a.html)

Dr_Rez 10-08-2007 03:01 PM

By The Way - Red hot Chili Peppers (2002)
 
http://cdn.last.fm/coverart/300x300/4458.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Track 1: By the Way (9.5/10)
Starts the album out very strong, with a very pop like song. Also now one of there most famous songs.

Track 2: Universally Speaking (9/10)
A very upbeat and happy song, which is not always easy to find with the Chili Peppers. All seems to fit together very well in the song, and shows Anthony Kiedas continually getting better with his singing abilities.

Track 3: This Is the Place (8.5/10)
Very catchy song, with extremely good lyrics about AKís life. Exactly what one would come to expect from the Peppers at this point in time.

Track 4: Dosed (8/10)
Another happy upbeat track, that will cheer anyone right up. Each band member does a geat job of making it all fit, especially the simple beat that Chad employ throughout.

Track 5: Donít Forget me (9.75/10)
My personal favorite on the album. John Fruscianteís guitar playing with effects is absolutely incredible, and makes for a spectacular live performance. This song again shows AKís improvement vacally since Californication.

Track 6: The Zephyr Song (9/10)
An incredibly catchy track, that catches your ear from the second it starts. Is definitly very pop like, which is not at all a bad thing for them. They did the genre a lot of good with this song.

Track 7: Canít Stop (9.5/10)
A completely different sound than any other song on the album. The closest they get to there older music before Californication. Although different fits in well, and definity improves the album.

Track 8: I Could Die For You (8.5/10)
Another solid song, that is very upbeat and positive. Is clearly another sign of the Pepper changing there style, and slowing down. Less crazy fast jam tracks.

Track 9: Midnight (9/10)
One of my favorites on By the Way, because of AKís good lyrics, and JFís great guitar playing that seems to fit in perfectly with the song. Also JFís background vocals are becoming more and more present.

Track 10: Throw Away Your Television (9.25/10)
My second favorite track on the album. Lyics are great, with a very true message. Also Chad Smiths funky beat fits very well with vocals and the heavily effected guitar playing by JF. (And great live song)

Track 11: Cabron (8/10)
Not one of my favorites on the album, but stil a solid entertaining track. Kind of a new aprach for them.

Track 12: Tear(8.5/10)
Good song, that fits well where it is on the album. Great display of vocal harmony which was majorly implimented on By the Way.

Track 13: On Mercury (7.5/10)
Probably my least favorite on the album. Still a good song, but does not fit to well with everything else. Many other Bsides were better than this song.

Track 14: Minor Thing (8.5/10)
Good track that fits in well, and brings AKís back a little bit to his old style. Another good example of the vocal harmonies with Ak and JF. (great solo in it also)

Track 15: Warm Tape (8.5/10)
Not one of the best on here, but still very good song, that also fits in well with the By the Way theme. Sounds much different than any of there older music.

Track 16: Venice Queen (9.25/10)
One of the Chili Peppers best songs to date. About a friend of theres who died, and they could not have made a better triute. Song is wonderful in every way, and is great performed live.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overall Score: 140.25/160 (B+/A-)

Reason: My second favorite album ever made, only after there previous one Californication. They did improve vastly though in many ways. First off, the vocal harmonies are very good on all of BTW, and Fruscianteís guitar playing is much more varried and full of effects than any of his previous music. Many of these songs are great live, and open for JF to solo. Akís really got much better vocally, which is one reason thi album is so good.

Ps: The Bsides are also extremely good. (RHCP have over 50 bsides, all of which are great.)

Dr_Rez 10-08-2007 03:04 PM

Here is a little gift to all you avid RHCP fans.

*RHCP* Place : The B-Sides

That is every B-Side, Video Clip, and Cover thats been put out.

Music_Rocker 12-03-2007 10:18 PM

Great album! This album flows very well. Not my favorite as "Calinfornication" or "Stadium Acadium" but a great effort. Very moving lyrics and mellodies. RHCP moved on well from a terrible death in the band.

~DaRk-EyE~ 12-07-2007 08:17 AM

I love listening to the song "By The Way" by RHCP. I love watching Anthony Kiedis playing his guitar. Amazing guitarist..

sleepy jack 12-07-2007 09:42 AM

Anthony Kiedis is their vocalist, not the guitarist.

Greta 01-01-2008 10:05 AM

I think it's the best Red Hot Chilli Peppers's album :band:

Seltzer 01-02-2008 02:42 AM

I think By the Way is a very good album. It is often slagged off for being poppy, but I think it's fairly well written with good variety/depth.

devilsmaster 01-21-2008 07:50 AM

I don't have this album, but love to have it.This album has very nice tracks.

under 01-21-2008 12:09 PM

they should have stayed with this album and became successful with it instead of making an album that brought them down. even with Stadium Arcadium, i think they didnt do so well on it as much as this one.

plothead31 01-24-2008 12:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ~DaRk-EyE~ (Post 420154)
I love listening to the song "By The Way" by RHCP. I love watching Anthony Kiedis playing his guitar. Amazing guitarist..

frusciante


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.


© 2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.