Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Colour Coded Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/39702-colour-coded-album-reviews.html)

Roygbiv 04-21-2009 04:23 PM

Colour Coded Album Reviews
 
Colour Coded Album Reviews!

RED

  • STANDARDS TORTOISE 8.5
  • '77 TALKING HEADS 7.4
  • IN BATTLE THERE IS NO LAW HEAVEN SHALL BURN - --- --- ON HIATUS!
  • ADVENTURE TELEVISION 8.0
  • REAL GONE TOM WAITS
  • TROUT MASK REPLICA CAPTAIN BEEFHEART AND HIS MAGIC BAND
  • RADIO CITY BIG STAR
  • IF YOU'RE FEELING SINISTER BELLE AND SEBASTIAN
  • RATHER RIPPED SONIC YOUTH
  • ENTERTAINMENT! GANG OF FOUR
  • DISCIPLINE KING CRIMSON

ORANGE

YELLOW
GREEN

BLUE
  • THE ICEMAN COMETH JERRY BUTLER 7.2
  • NOWHERE RIDE 8.7
  • SILENT SHOUT THE KNIFE 9.0
  • AN ANSWER CAN BE FOUND CKY
  • LET IT BE THE REPLACEMENTS
  • HOW STRANGE, INNOCENCE EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY
  • #1 RECORD BIG STAR
  • WHIRLPOOL CHAPTERHOUSE
  • FUTURE DAYS CAN
  • BLUE TRAIN JOHN COLTRANE
  • SIREN ROXY MUSIC
  • NEVERMIND NIRVANA
  • WEEZER WEEZER
  • PEOPLE... HOLD ON EDDIE KENDRICKS

INDIGO
VIOLET
My username is Roygbiv, right? I’m sure you’re not surprised this happened. Also, I can prove you’re interested: you’re still reading.

So here’s how it works:
Albums with red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, or violet (aka pink) covers will be reviewed in their own segments. Eventually I want to do a PRISM (silver) coloured segment because all colours in a spectrum are within one ray, a-la Dark Side of the Moon (you can tell I'm no scientist).

The albums will have a rating out of 10.

I will also upload videos to youtube with song clips on them, so that you can decide whether you want to check the band out or not. I'll post them after they're processed.

I am taking recommendations for reviews, so don’t hold out if you have a red album that you’d like me to review.

Here we go!

Standards Tortoise

A friend of mine calls this Tortoise’s hip-hop album. No, they don’t rap. What he means is that the beats are so defined and patterned someone out there must have sampled them at some point.

This is saying a lot for Tortoise. An album ago they were unapologetic minimalist krautrock. This time around they’re more post-rock, more danceable. Momentum is very important in post-rock, mostly because the accepted practice is a lack of vocals. If that’s the case, Standards doesn’t do a good job. If you’re planning to listen to this album from beginning to end, be prepared for it, for it flirts with becoming background music sometimes. If you listen to each song as a self contained entity, however, you’ll be very entertained. The album is filled with memorable beats (Seneca, Eros, Benway, Six Pack, Eden 2) so if you want an album that will convince your friends that Tortoise are cool and that they do have fun, Standards is it. Also, it’s a great album to dance to.

That said, you get the feeling that the band is having the time of their lives this time around, compared to the seriousness of Millions Now Living Will Never Die and the general laid-backness of TNT. They are also more influenced with jazz, lounge and hip-hop, so you get a more diverse package (within their studio albums).

There are some great moments in this album, but don’t be surprised (or feel bad) if you can’t finish it everytime you turn it on. An album for the iPod generation.

PREVIEW "SIX PACK"




8.5

gunnels 04-21-2009 04:26 PM

So does this mean your going to flood the review section with your threads?
I personally don't have a problem with it, but the mods might.

WWWP 04-21-2009 04:34 PM

I think this is clever.

simplephysics 04-21-2009 04:38 PM

As do I.

Roygbiv 04-21-2009 05:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gunnels (Post 643618)
So does this mean your going to flood the review section with your threads?
I personally don't have a problem with it, but the mods might.

So far, one mod approval.

But i'd get it if i was told to merge all colours into one section. There wouldn't be any more than 7 threads made by me, though. Or six, if I combined Indigo and Violet (which aren't far from each other), or Orange and Yellow.

In other news: The review now has a youtube video that I upped myself.

WWWP 04-21-2009 05:41 PM

I think you should merge them all.

Roygbiv 04-21-2009 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolverinewolfweiselpigeon (Post 643651)
I think you should merge them all.

I agree. Can I get a mod to take away RED from the thread title?

WWWP 04-21-2009 05:47 PM

I look forward to more reviews.

Roygbiv 04-21-2009 05:48 PM

If there's an album you'd like me to review, let me know!

I work fast.

sidewinder 04-21-2009 05:58 PM

I approve of this album and this thread concept.

Roygbiv 04-21-2009 06:44 PM

thanks! if you want I can share the album.

sidewinder 04-21-2009 07:01 PM

I've got it on CD, but thanks. ;)

4ZZZ 04-22-2009 12:49 AM

I have an album that I want you to review. It is yellow though. I had lined it up for my Judge An Album By Its Cover thread but would be happy for you to give it a go.

Piss Me Off 04-22-2009 03:57 AM

Will there be a token Weezer review?

Bulldog 04-22-2009 05:30 AM

Nice idea this. Bring on Trout Mask Replica!

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 07:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4ZZZ (Post 643894)
I have an album that I want you to review. It is yellow though. I had lined it up for my Judge An Album By Its Cover thread but would be happy for you to give it a go.

yes, please, send it my way!

PMO - good question. i'll definitely consider it.

Bulldog - i was actually going to review TMR instead of Standards for my first review. uncanny. i will do it the next go-round.

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 08:28 AM

ORANGE

THUNDER, LIGHTNING, STRIKE THE GO! TEAM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...%2C_Strike.jpg

“One, two, three, four!”

You’ll never hear that rally cry the same way again. A great album can be one that takes tried and true preconceptions and makes them fresh again. The Go! Team do just that in Thunder, Lightning, Strike, their debut album. The secret is in the production.

Though they live up to their namesake, making energetic music with cheerleading chants, it wouldn’t make perfect sense to let the album spin at a party. Though some songs would do just fine (The Power is On, Get It Together, Junior Kickstart, Huddle Formation), the lo-fi production brings the music closer to home. The Go! Team aim to pump you up with nostalgia, channeling Saturday morning cartoons, a sunset on the beach with your friends wearing light sweaters and sinking flip-flops in the sand - channeling your youth, in other words.

To do that they use strings, banjos, turn tables, funky basses, pianos, horns, samples and standard band instruments. As you can imagine, the lyrics are not on the forefront. You can hear the chanting, but I’d pay anyone who can understand any of them. That’s because the lyrics are not the point - the delivery is. I swear they Poke-rap at one point (Bottle Rocket).

If there was one thing to criticize about the album is that it’s impossible to follow up. The Go! Team did release a second album, Proof Of Youth, but everything that was good about Thunder, Lightning, Strike was scrapped for that one. This is a once in a lifetime offering, an album with no precedent and probably no successor. You may be able to come up with a few bands and albums that sound similar, but none come close to doing what The Go! Team do so successfully here.

GET IT TOGETHER


9.3

jackhammer 04-22-2009 11:47 AM

Good review. Unfortunately I have never been able to get into the Go team.

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 12:31 PM

nothing to be nostalgic about? : P

Molecules 04-22-2009 12:59 PM

http://a6.vox.com/6a00c2251c44b48fdb...495e0003-320pi

if you review that you are cool as custard. plus i dont think you will find a redder album cover

Roygbiv 04-22-2009 04:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Molecules (Post 644231)
http://a6.vox.com/6a00c2251c44b48fdb...495e0003-320pi

if you review that you are cool as custard. plus i dont think you will find a redder album cover

Suggestion taken. Working on getting the album as I type : P

333 04-22-2009 10:38 PM

Spark it up, sparky. :D Can't wait to hear this one.

Comus 04-22-2009 11:13 PM

haha I love this idea.

Roygbiv 04-23-2009 08:47 PM

thanks buddy!

*bump : P

simplephysics 04-23-2009 11:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roygbiv (Post 644072)

THUNDER, LIGHTNING, STRIKE THE GO! TEAM

Though they live up to their namesake, making energetic music with cheerleading chants, it wouldn’t make perfect sense to let the album spin at a party. Though some songs would do just fine (The Power is On, Get It Together, Junior Kickstart, Huddle Formation), the lo-fi production brings the music closer to home. The Go! Team aim to pump you up with nostalgia, channeling Saturday morning cartoons, a sunset on the beach with your friends wearing light sweaters and sinking flip-flops in the sand - channeling your youth, in other words.

Basically the perfect way to describe the feeling you get listening to this album. I really like THUNDER, LIGHTNING, STRIKE as well,
it's a well crafted instrumental pop dance party.

Quote:

To do that they use strings, banjos, turn tables, funky basses, pianos, horns, samples and standard band instruments. As you can imagine, the lyrics are not on the forefront. You can hear the chanting, but I’d pay anyone who can understand any of them. That’s because the lyrics are not the point - the delivery is. I swear they Poke-rap at one point (Bottle Rocket).

There's definitely something a bit, "urban" about the Go! Team, but their music is just so innocent, this album is something I'd give to an 8 year old if they came to me for musical advice. (I'm waiting for the day <3)

Roygbiv 04-23-2009 11:55 PM

the day an eight year old asks me to give him/her music advice is the day i can die happy

also, i agree with the innocence of the album. the production does it all. it's such a shy sounding album, but underneath there's so much attitude.

also, i've updated the list of upcoming albums for YEllOW, GREEN and BLUE. there are some real gems there.

Roygbiv 04-24-2009 10:49 AM

YELLOW

THE BIZ THE SEA AND CAKE

http://www.theseaandcake.com/disc/biz.gif

Summery, beachy post-rock at it’s most warming. This is certainly the perfect soundtrack to the upcoming season, and it has mostly to do with Sam Prekop’s breezy vocal delivery, light guitars that mimic the waves, and a deep rhythm section for some shimmying and dancing. The album is best enjoyed whilst road tripping.

The stand outs are the opening numbers. “The Biz” is immediate and lovable, and it might be your favourite track until “Leeora” comes along with a more consistent rhythm. Then there’s “The Kiss,” and what you’ve got is a fail safe formula. The album does go slow down slightly with “Darkest Night,” and “Sending” but you’ll find that those moments are essential for momentum, and what’s a post-rock record without it?

At times The Biz doesn’t sound like a post-rock album, what with all the vocals and more pop-oriented opening tracks. But the third track, once again “The Kiss,” settles it first, and the album jumps back and forth between post-rock progression and pop sensibilities. It may sound like the album is disjointed, but it’s in fact perfect. The prominent pop foundation keeps what would be the intimidating post-rock elements in check, always bringing the sound back to something familiar and welcoming.

It’s interesting to note that Sea and Cake drummer John McEntire is also the drummer for post-rock gods Tortoise, a band that makes some serious post-rock without any pop at all.

The Biz feels like the kind of album that will always be there for you. It’s vague enough that everyone will connect with it, especially if it’s spun at a festive gathering. It can be that personal album that doesn’t give you any advice but holds you tight regardless, or it can be that album that all your friends have in common. But that’s the problem with it also. It can be as disposable as you need it to be. You may dust it off every now and then to listen to it whichever way you experience it best and then you may not listen to it for a long while. Your love or dislike for the album is based entirely on how you first experienced it, and how you choose to experience it thereafter. A worthwhile listen, regardless.




7.5/10

Roemilca 04-24-2009 03:21 PM

Joan Of Arc's **** Cheney, Mark Twain... has a yellow cover. ;)

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 12:15 AM

it's not very yellow, you can do better than that : P

Comus 04-25-2009 12:33 AM

For green, do yes Close to the Edge.

http://static.rateyourmusic.com/albu...ea617/5721.jpg

Looks pretty damn green to me.

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 09:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Comus (Post 646409)
For green, do yes Close to the Edge.

http://static.rateyourmusic.com/albu...ea617/5721.jpg

Looks pretty damn green to me.

will do, it's on the list of upcoming. i'll do it after i do ege bamyasi by can.

4ZZZ 04-25-2009 09:28 AM

Don't tell them what you are reviewing Roy. Keep them guessing.

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 09:38 AM

i thought a revealed list would build incentive to view the thread and comment on it.

it's not a wildly popular thread : P

4ZZZ 04-25-2009 09:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roygbiv (Post 646544)
it's not a wildly popular thread : P

Compared to what mate? Rubbish like my band is better than your band threads?

Those that count read this thread;)

Urban Hat€monger ? 04-25-2009 09:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4ZZZ (Post 646547)
Those that count read this thread;)

What he said

You'll find people will read threads like this rather than comment. Unless of course you come out with something really controversial ;)

Roygbiv 04-25-2009 10:40 AM

controversial, eh? :P

thanks for the reassurance guys. i really don't know what i was thinking about when i said that.

Seltzer 04-25-2009 10:57 AM

If you review any of Weezer's spectral discography in a positive light (excuse the pun), I'm sure Urban will find that controversial. In fact, he may even lay a brown one. :D

Roygbiv 04-27-2009 08:23 PM

GREEN
EGE BAMYASI CAN

http://antidomingo.tv/wp-content/upl...08/2r6gpzq.jpg

Expect post-rock, krautrock, progressive rock, world pop, and alternative rock reminiscent of Beck and The Beta Band. Then expect it all to fit within 40 great minutes and you’ve got Ege Bamyasi, also known as Can’s pop record. It’s the one record in their entire discography that stands out the most, and it’s easy to see why. It’s the most focused, most immediate and thus most accessible. But is it their best?

That’s arguable. For most, Can is Tago Mago and Future Days - subtle and sprawling. Ege Bamyasi is their certainly their boldest and, due to the differing song styles, most disjointed one. It’s not necessary to listen to the album in one sitting, which is exactly what the aforementioned two (and most others in their discography) outright demand. But for this same reason it’s also their least intimidating, and normally the place many begin. The single “Spoon,” once the theme of a German television show, the fact that Kanye West once sampled “Swin Swang Song” and that Pitchfork rated it at 9.8 out of 10 means that you’ve probably heard of this album before any of the others.

And maybe you should listen to this one before the others. In all honesty, however, I’d start with either Tago Mago or Future Days so that you can get Ege Bamyasi. Though, with a band like Can, starting anywhere is a good idea.




8.9/10

333 04-27-2009 08:48 PM

Nice one, mister. :) I favor Sing Swan Song. Is that typical?

Roygbiv 04-27-2009 08:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 333 (Post 647695)
Nice one, mister. :) I favor Sing Swan Song. Is that typical?

It's a nice track.

My favourite is I'm So Green. It seems so out of place in the album because it's so much poppier than all the other tracks.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 AM.


© 2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.