Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Top 5 Albums from Each Year: 1965-2000 (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/50159-top-5-albums-each-year-1965-2000-a.html)

streetwaves 06-26-2010 11:31 AM

Top 5 Albums from Each Year: 1965-2000
 
Okay, so I've scrapped my last thread (the one where I tried to do my top 55 records ever). My selections change a lot, and I find it easier to go year-by-year. So I intend to finish this new project pretty soon - I'll get a good deal of it done today. Hope someone enjoys it.

1965:
http://i46.tinypic.com/1zybzu0.jpg
1. The Sonics - Here Are The Sonics!!!

Don't get me wrong, I think Rubber Soul is a nice little record. But in the same year, the Sonics were putting out songs like 'The Witch,' 'Boss Hoss,' 'Psycho', and of course, 'Strychnine', with lyrics like "some folks like water, some folks like wine / but I like the taste of straight strychnine". You can't beat that in 1965... even if they do make you hear some covers of the usual standards.

2. John Coltrane - A Love Supreme
3. Rahsaan Roland Kirk - Rip, Rig and Panic
4. The Beatles - Rubber Soul
5. Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited


1966:
http://i50.tinypic.com/24m7zx3.jpg
1. The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

I never knew I liked the Beach Boys until I heard this album. I like the Beach Boys. This is definitely one of the most beautiful albums of the 1960s and that also makes it one of the best. You can tell which decade it comes from, but that doesn't make it any less timeless. We'll be listening to this for many years to come, and it'll always make us want to sing along.

2. The Beatles - Revolver
3. Monks - Black Monk Time
4. Cecil Taylor - Unit Structures
5. The Seeds - A Web of Sound

1967:
http://i49.tinypic.com/8wi1ds.jpg
1. The Velvet Underground - The Velvet Underground & Nico

What more can be said? This record completely reshaped modern music when it was released in 1967 and still holds up to this day. Even in 2010, the menacing sounds of songs like 'Venus in Furs' and 'Run Run Run' are able to send chills through your spine. A masterpiece, and a contender for the best album of the 1960s for sure.

2. Captain Beefheart - Safe as Milk
3. Leonard Cohen - Songs of Leonard Cohen
4. Pink Floyd - The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
5. Jefferson Airplane - Surrealistic Pillow

More later...

OctaneHugo 06-26-2010 11:55 AM

How did Revolver not win '66? I am disappoint.

streetwaves 06-26-2010 12:01 PM

1968:
http://i45.tinypic.com/32zj3t5.jpg
1. Gilberto Gil - Gilberto Gil

Tropicália doesn't get much better than this. I prefer this to Caetano Veloso's also great record that came out in '68 as well. Try to tell me 'Procissão' isn't infectious as hell!

2. The Velvet Underground - White Light/White Heat
3. Jaki Byard - The Jaki Byard Experience
4. The Zombies - Odessey and Oracle
5. Peter Brötzmann - Machine Gun

1969:
http://i50.tinypic.com/2dj1oa8.jpg
1. Captain Beefheart - Trout Mask Replica

Another one of those albums that's been talked about endlessly. Nonetheless, I feel the need to say something. At first listen a few years ago, I thought this was the biggest pile of **** ever. I was very, very wrong, but admittedly, it took me a while to realize it. It's certainly not a record to turn on in the car to pass the time, but there's some absolutely brilliant stuff on this record. But for those who can't get into this record: don't dismiss Captain Beefheart totally until you've at least heard Safe as Milk.

2. Don Cherry - Eternal Rhythm
3. King Crimson - In the Court of the Crimson King
4. Miles Davis - In a Silent Way
5. Gal Costa - Gal

1970:
http://i46.tinypic.com/i4ie1k.jpg
1. The Stooges - Fun House

If you really want to hear "raw power", you listen to Fun House. Period. I don't know of any other record that is this successful at literally exploding through your speakers and making you feel the energy coming through as if you were there, watching it all go down. A classic for sure.

2. The Art Ensemble of Chicago - Les stances à Sophie
3. Amon Düül II - Yeti
4. Miles Davis - Bitches Brew
5. Brigitte Fontaine & Art Ensemble of Chicago - Comme à la radio

James 06-26-2010 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by streetwaves (Post 890387)
1968:
http://i45.tinypic.com/32zj3t5.jpg
1. Gilberto Gil - Gilberto Gil

Tropicália doesn't get much better than this. I prefer this to Caetano Veloso's also great record that came out in '68 as well. Try to tell me 'Procissão' isn't infectious as hell!

I like you.

streetwaves 06-26-2010 12:24 PM

1971:
http://i50.tinypic.com/28lq8zt.jpg
1. Can - Tago Mago

I heard this referred to as something like "the mothership of krautrock" somewhere, and I think that's a pretty good analogy. This record still sounds like it's from a different planet, and it's been almost 40 years since it was first being listened to. You can still hear the influence today. Can do engage in some noisy experimentation with 'Aumgn' and 'Peking O.', but make sure to reward your patience at the end with 'Bring Me Coffee or Tea'. And the first side of the album is totally flawless.

2. Serge Gainsbourg - Histoire de Melody Nelson
3. Funkadelic - Maggot Brain
4. Faust - Faust
5. David Bowie - Hunky Dory

1972:
http://i48.tinypic.com/255t1lj.jpg
1. Neu! - Neu!

More "Germans-playing-music-from-the-future". Obvious highlights are 'Hallogallo', 'Weissensee', and 'Negativland', which are some of the coolest bits of music ever recorded. Despite probably being destined to test your patience on tracks like 'Lieber Honig', you've got to admit, 'Hallogallo' just might be the grooviest instrumental ever.

2. Can - Ege Bamyasi
3. Roxy Music - Roxy Music
4. Nick Drake - Pink Moon
5. Fela Kuti - Roforofo Fight

streetwaves 06-26-2010 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OctaneHugo (Post 890384)
How did Revolver not win '66? I am disappoint.

Pet Sounds is definitely better than Revolver!

James 06-26-2010 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by streetwaves (Post 890405)
1971:


1972:
http://i48.tinypic.com/255t1lj.jpg
1. Neu! - Neu!

More "Germans-playing-music-from-the-future". Obvious highlights are 'Hallogallo', 'Weissensee', and 'Negativland', which are some of the coolest bits of music ever recorded. Despite probably being destined to test your patience on tracks like 'Lieber Honig', you've got to admit, 'Hallogallo' just might be the grooviest instrumental ever.

I really like you.

streetwaves 06-26-2010 02:37 PM

1973:
http://i47.tinypic.com/2cddeut.jpg
1. Hawkwind - Space Ritual

I was expecting this to suck. I read the description and thought it just sounded like one of these lame "drugged-up-idiots-playing-really-long-songs-with-nothing-special-about-them" bands. I was wrong! One of the best live records ever for sure. Turn it on, you know you want to hear some good space rawk.

2. New York Dolls - New York Dolls
3. Gong - Flying Teapot
4. Can - Future Days
5. Alexander von Schlippenbach - Pakistani Pomade

1974:
http://i50.tinypic.com/14o91n8.jpg
1. Brian Eno - Here Come the Warm Jets

This may not technically be Eno's best album. There's a lot going on, and it's all over the place. But that's partly why I like it - it's not really sticking to any particular "mood" you have to prepare yourself for just so you can get through the album, like some albums do. It's got something for almost any kind of mood you'd be in, from the noisy anthemic proto-punk of the masterful 'Needles in the Camel's Eye', to the serene and beautiful "On Some Faraway Beach", to the blistering garage rock of "Blank Frank" to what is possibly one of the earliest examples of what shoegaze would become in the mesmerizing title track. One of my favorite albums of all time.

2. Faust - Faust IV
3. Kraftwerk - Autobahn
4. Brian Eno - Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy)
5. Sparks - Kimono My House

1975:
http://i49.tinypic.com/2ytyy3o.jpg
1. Brian Eno - Another Green World

I feel like a fanboy having two Eno rekkids in a row, but let's face it, there's nothing better from '75 than his magnum opus. This is definitely more coherent and consistent than his other work up until this point, and he effortlessly puts out one of the most beautiful and timeless slabs of music ever with this one. Sometimes beats out his debut depending on my mood. Definitely a masterpiece.

2. Bernard Parmegiani - De natura sonorum
3. Fela Kuti - Expensive ****
4. Henry Cow - In Praise of Learning
5. Harmonia - Deluxe

1976:
http://i48.tinypic.com/neezwz.jpg
1. The Modern Lovers - The Modern Lovers

Hell yeah. This is one of the most underrated rock and roll albums ever made - 'Roadrunner' is the greatest song ever about driving in your car and listening to rock and roll music at night (which also makes it one of the best songs ever, since the subject matter is perfect), 'Hospital' is a beautifully downbeat masterpiece, 'She Cracked' is perfect proto-punk straightedge, etc. The album is bursting at the seams with gems, not excluding the awesome strutting closer 'Modern World', which is effortlessly cool. Another one of my favorite albums ever. "The modern world is not so bad, not like the students say / In fact I'd be in heaven if you'd share the modern world with me..."

2. The Residents - The Third Reich 'n Roll
3. David Bowie - Station to Station
4. Charlemagne Palestine - Strumming Music
5. Cluster - Sowiesoso

James 06-26-2010 02:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by streetwaves (Post 890462)
1973:
http://i47.tinypic.com/2cddeut.jpg
1. Hawkwind - Space Ritual

I was expecting this to suck. I read the description and thought it just sounded like one of these lame "drugged-up-idiots-playing-really-long-songs-with-nothing-special-about-them" bands. I was wrong! One of the best live records ever for sure. Turn it on, you know you want to hear some good space rawk.

2. New York Dolls - New York Dolls
3. Gong - Flying Teapot
4. Can - Future Days
5. Alexander von Schlippenbach - Pakistani Pomade

1974:
http://i50.tinypic.com/14o91n8.jpg
1. Brian Eno - Here Come the Warm Jets

This may not technically be Eno's best album. There's a lot going on, and it's all over the place. But that's partly why I like it - it's not really sticking to any particular "mood" you have to prepare yourself for just so you can get through the album, like some albums do. It's got something for almost any kind of mood you'd be in, from the noisy anthemic proto-punk of the masterful 'Needles in the Camel's Eye', to the serene and beautiful "On Some Faraway Beach", to the blistering garage rock of "Blank Frank" to what is possibly one of the earliest examples of what shoegaze would become in the mesmerizing title track. One of my favorite albums of all time.

2. Faust - Faust IV
3. Kraftwerk - Autobahn
4. Brian Eno - Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy)
5. Sparks - Kimono My House

1975:
http://i49.tinypic.com/2ytyy3o.jpg
1. Brian Eno - Another Green World

I feel like a fanboy having two Eno rekkids in a row, but let's face it, there's nothing better from '75 than his magnum opus. This is definitely more coherent and consistent than his other work up until this point, and he effortlessly puts out one of the most beautiful and timeless slabs of music ever with this one. Sometimes beats out his debut depending on my mood. Definitely a masterpiece.

2. Bernard Parmegiani - De natura sonorum
3. Fela Kuti - Expensive ****
4. Henry Cow - In Praise of Learning
5. Harmonia - Deluxe

1976:
http://i48.tinypic.com/neezwz.jpg
1. The Modern Lovers - The Modern Lovers

Hell yeah. This is one of the most underrated rock and roll albums ever made - 'Roadrunner' is the greatest song ever about driving in your car and listening to rock and roll music at night (which also makes it one of the best songs ever, since the subject matter is perfect), 'Hospital' is a beautifully downbeat masterpiece, 'She Cracked' is perfect proto-punk straightedge, etc. The album is bursting at the seams with gems, not excluding the awesome strutting closer 'Modern World', which is effortlessly cool. Another one of my favorite albums ever. "The modern world is not so bad, not like the students say / In fact I'd be in heaven if you'd share the modern world with me..."

2. The Residents - The Third Reich 'n Roll
3. David Bowie - Station to Station
4. Charlemagne Palestine - Strumming Music
5. Cluster - Sowiesoso

I'm starting to love you.

streetwaves 06-26-2010 03:42 PM

1977:
Not in order except for #1:

1. Augustus Pablo - King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown
2. Television - Marquee Moon
3. Suicide - Suicide
4. Wire - Pink Flag
5. David Bowie - Low

1978:
http://i46.tinypic.com/13z0t3o.jpg
1. Pere Ubu - The Modern Dance

Might just be the greatest album of the 1970s. This is quite simply one of the most wildly inventive and inspired albums I have ever heard. Maybe the most. When I first heard it, it won me over with the crazed energy of songs like 'Non-Alignment Pact' and 'Street Waves', but lost me (inexplicably) with songs like 'Laughing' and even 'Life Stinks', both of which don't sound at all too "far out" to me now. Not sure what I was thinking, but I'm glad it has subsided. If you haven't heard this, or you haven't yet fully enjoyed it, listen to it again and give it another chance. If you can get over the initial feelings of "this guy's voice is bizarre" and don't mind hearing some breaking glass if it means you get to hear 'Humor Me' afterwards, this album will reward you.

2. Crass - The Feeding of the 5000
3. Wire - Chairs Missing
4. The Residents - Not Available
5. Devo - Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 AM.


© 2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.


SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.