Music Banter

Go Back   Music Banter > The MB Reader > Album Reviews
Register Blogging Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Welcome to Music Banter Forum! Make sure to register - it's free and very quick! You have to register before you can post and participate in our discussions with over 70,000 other registered members. After you create your free account, you will be able to customize many options, you will have the full access to over 1,100,000 posts.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Groupie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default Ween's 'La Cucaracha' reviewed

I loves me some Ween, and I know that a lot of people say that their new album sucks, but that's just wrong.
Fiesta: 6.5;
Blue Balloon: 6.5;
Friends: 8;
Object: 7;
Learnin' To Love: 7;
My Own Bare Hands: 7;
The Fruit Man: 6;
Spirit Walker: 7;
Shamemaker: 7;
Sweetheart in The Summer: 7.5;
Lullaby: 7.5;
Woman And Man: 7.5;
Your Party: 7.5;
Bag Of Fat[iTunes Exclusive]: 6
I give it a 7 overall.
Dillin523 is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Zer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3,792
Default

Where's the review?
__________________
Zer0 is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Groupie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Question Right there

At the top of the page.
Dillin523 is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Zer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3,792
Default

That's not a review, that's just rating the individual songs and then giving an overall score without actually saying anything about the album, what it means to you, what it's key strengths and weaknesses are, and what goes through your head as you listen to it etc. You don't even have to rate the album when you're reviewing it.

Here's a pretty good example:

http://www.musicbanter.com/album-rev...is-1919-a.html

It's well structured and has plenty of detail. You can do better, make the effort and really go for it.
__________________
Zer0 is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Buzz Killjoy
 
BastardofYoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,692
Default

Yeah... I saw this and got happy... Ween is one of my favorite bands, and "La Cucaracha" has really grown on me over time. Not as good as "The Mollusk" or "Quebec", but in it;s own way does what it sets out to do, be a fun party album.

Anyways, I clicked on it and saw nothing... Just songs rated.
__________________
last.fm

‎"I hope that someday we will be able to put away our fears and prejudices and just laugh at people." - Jack Handey.
BastardofYoung is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Groupie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Thumbs up Okay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
That's not a review, that's just rating the individual songs and then giving an overall score without actually saying anything about the album, what it means to you, what it's key strengths and weaknesses are, and what goes through your head as you listen to it etc. You don't even have to rate the album when you're reviewing it.


It's well structured and has plenty of detail. You can do better, make the effort and really go for it.
Oh, I guess you're right. I'll post another review tomorrow.
Dillin523 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads



2003-2019 Advameg, Inc.

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.