Battle of the Reviewers - Give your nominations here! (members, reviews) - Music Banter Music Banter

Go Back   Music Banter > The Music Forums > General Music
Register Blogging Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Welcome to Music Banter Forum! Make sure to register - it's free and very quick! You have to register before you can post and participate in our discussions with over 70,000 other registered members. After you create your free account, you will be able to customize many options, you will have the full access to over 1,100,000 posts.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 04:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Juicious Maximus III
 
Guybrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scabb Island
Posts: 6,525
Default Battle of the Reviewers - Give your nominations here!

nominations closed!

Hey guys

Sometimes after I wrote the Album Review Index, I tried to think of things it could be useful for aside the obvious, which is finding reviews. One idea that I did have was why not arrange a little contest between reviewers. That might make people read more reviews and it could also give a little back to those who spend their time contributing to the site that way. How to do it? Well, I did think about something grand like Comus' battle of the bands, but it's a bit too much I think, so I guess I'll fall back on making this a simpler poll.

What I want first, before I make the poll, is nominations. When posting your nomination, keep this in mind :
  1. Nominate one reviewer
  2. Don't nominate yourself

In other words, there are lots of reviewers on MB and it doesn't make sense to put all of them in the poll. I don't want people to simply fill in the missing reviewers with their nominations either, so pick someone you think does a good job (you choose the criteria). Hopefully at the end of this, I can make some sort of poll with the nominees.


I'll keep and maintain a list of nominees here :


Nominations :


ATTENTION NOMINEES!

Before the real poll, I'm gonna ask you to give me a link or two to reviews that will represent you in the poll that will be made eventually. This is to give potential pollers something to base their poll-choice on. I will send out messages in case some of you don't read it here, but those of you who do, feel free to send me some links whenever.

I'd like to nominate Seltzer simply because I just had another look at his King Crimson Education thread and his reviews, aside from everything else which is good, are amazingly informative which is someting I like.


nominations closed!
__________________
Something Completely Different

Last edited by Guybrush; 04-02-2009 at 12:15 AM.
Guybrush is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 04:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ba and Be.
 
jackhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: This Is England
Posts: 17,331
Default

Comus.

Because it's usually something a little out of the norm that he reviews.
__________________

“A cynic by experience, a romantic by inclination and now a hero by necessity.”
jackhammer is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 04:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Juicious Maximus III
 
Guybrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scabb Island
Posts: 6,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackhammer View Post
Comus.

Because it's usually something a little out of the norm that he reviews.
Yup, good nomination! I got a lot of weird (and good) stuff in my collection now thanks to him
__________________
Something Completely Different
Guybrush is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 05:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Pale and Wan
 
Fruitonica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Aus
Posts: 917
Default

I'll go with Cardboard Adolescent, probably not the most helpful reviews but some of the best written on the site.
Fruitonica is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 06:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Moodswings n' Roundabouts
 
Piss Me Off's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: At the corner of Dude and Catastrophe
Posts: 4,512
Default

Cardboard Adolescent would be my pick as well, i love his style of writing.
__________________


Last FM
Rate Yr Music
Muxtape
Piss Me Off is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 06:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
one big soul
 
Alfred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default

Fruitonica.
__________________
Alfred is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 06:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
why bother?
 
Bulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 4,840
Default

Roygbiv gets my vote.
Bulldog is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 06:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Juicious Maximus III
 
Guybrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scabb Island
Posts: 6,525
Default

All deserving nominees, all added!
__________________
Something Completely Different
Guybrush is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 07:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Certified H00d Classic
 
Anteater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bernie Sanders's yacht
Posts: 6,129
Default

WendyCal
__________________
Anteater's 21 Fav Albums Of 2020

Anteater's Daily Tune Roulette

Quote:
Originally Posted by OccultHawk
I was called upon by the muses for greatness.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frownland
I'm bald, ja.
Anteater is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 07:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Juicious Maximus III
 
Guybrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scabb Island
Posts: 6,525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anteater View Post
WendyCal
Come on, be serious you slob :p
__________________
Something Completely Different
Guybrush is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads



© 2003-2024 Advameg, Inc.