The Official Computer Tech Support Thread - Music Banter Music Banter

Go Back   Music Banter > Community Center > The Lounge
Register Blogging Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Welcome to Music Banter Forum! Make sure to register - it's free and very quick! You have to register before you can post and participate in our discussions with over 70,000 other registered members. After you create your free account, you will be able to customize many options, you will have the full access to over 1,100,000 posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 07:22 PM   #1211 (permalink)
eat the masters
 
debaserr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5,464
Default

I use a Sansa Clip, but I didn't care about docking it.
__________________
Last.FM
debaserr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:31 PM   #1212 (permalink)
Cardboard Box Realtor
 
LoathsomePete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hobb's End
Posts: 7,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric generic View Post
I use a Sansa Clip, but I didn't care about docking it.
I'm using a Sansa Clip 4 gb one right now. I was super worried the first time I formatted it so I could put some new music on, I was afraid I'd get rid of the software that actually plays the music and it'd just be a 4gb hard drive.
LoathsomePete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:28 AM   #1213 (permalink)
Born to be mild
 
Trollheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 404 Not Found
Posts: 26,565
Default

I don't think there's a dock small enough for a Sansa Clip! Great little player though.

Thing is, the likes of the X-Fi and even the ipod have inbuilt speakers, but you might as well be listening with your headphones really for all the good they are. A decent washing machine cycle, hoover or even passing truck will drown it out, that's why I needed the dock. Also needed to keep the thing charged for when I go out (which is a lot less, now).

Anyway, as I say the problem appears to have been resolved, in a kind of accidental way, for now. Thanks to all you guys for your help and input.
__________________
Trollheart: Signature-free since April 2018
Trollheart is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:03 PM   #1214 (permalink)
~de geso
 
Chrysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 495
Default

So I've been having trouble when trying to access Mediafire recently. Two days ago, I'd started getting an error that says "McAffee Proxy Service Module has stopped working" (yes, I know that I still have McAfee on my computer. I just never bothered to uninstall it). I cannot access Mediafire at the moment, and it will only give me that error when I try to access it. Googling this error revealed that 3 people had asked about this on the same day that I had. So do you guys have any advice when it comes to preventing this error, or is McAfee just crap and I need to uninstall it?
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:29 PM   #1215 (permalink)
Born to be mild
 
Trollheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 404 Not Found
Posts: 26,565
Default

The short answer is that McAfee, like Norton, is a useless resource hog and should be shot, preferably into the sun out of a cannon.

Uninstall and just download MSE instead. It's free, unobtrusive and it works, even if it IS MicroSatan...
__________________
Trollheart: Signature-free since April 2018
Trollheart is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:32 PM   #1216 (permalink)
~de geso
 
Chrysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trollheart View Post
The short answer is that McAfee, like Norton, is a useless resource hog and should be shot, preferably into the sun out of a cannon.

Uninstall and just download MSE instead. It's free, unobtrusive and it works, even if it IS MicroSatan...
When you say MSE, you mean Microsoft Security Essentials, right? I've heard a few good things about that, so I'll try it out.

(I never even bought McAfee by the way. IIRC, it was already installed on my computer when I got it)
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:07 PM   #1217 (permalink)
 
Zer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
When you say MSE, you mean Microsoft Security Essentials, right? I've heard a few good things about that, so I'll try it out.

(I never even bought McAfee by the way. IIRC, it was already installed on my computer when I got it)
I'd recommend using Avast, I've been using it for a few years now and it does the business. Best of all it's free to download.

avast! | Download Free Antivirus Software or Internet Security
__________________
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:38 PM   #1218 (permalink)
~de geso
 
Chrysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 495
Default

Oh my god.

Uninstalling McAfee was probably the best technology-related decision that I've made all year.

My access to the internet is back* and it's a lot faster now. I'll be getting Avast in a few minutes.

*I was using a different computer for the first two posts in this discussion.

Last edited by Chrysalis; 11-01-2012 at 06:59 PM.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 07:46 PM   #1219 (permalink)
Born to be mild
 
Trollheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 404 Not Found
Posts: 26,565
Default

Congrats on giving McAfee its marching orders.
I'd still go with Microsoft Security Essentials though: it's pretty seamless and hasn't given me a single problem since I installed it. Don't know about Avast, though I've heard good things. Either will probably do fine.

Thing I hate about McAfee and Norton is that 9/10 times when you buy a new computer they're already installed. And it's like I DON'T WANT THE DAMN THING but then they can be quite hard to uninstall. Damn bundled software! Why not just give us a free but less resource-hungry program? And the sad thing is, a large percentage of non-computer-savvy people will not realise this monster is eating their memory, slowing the PC down, and that any problems they're having could be solved by ditching it.
__________________
Trollheart: Signature-free since April 2018
Trollheart is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:59 PM   #1220 (permalink)
Partying on the inside
 
Freebase Dali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,584
Default

The only reason I'd rather stray from MSE than Avast is the fact that from Vista and up, it's included in most versions. The reason that's important is malware begins to become customized for it. Not so much in the resistance department, but you generally see a lot more things "masquerading" as something related to the popular AV software out there, and unaware PC users may end up downloading and running something they think is totally safe. And when it comes packed in an OS, there's a very large chance that authors of malware are going to target that sort of thing.

So, effectiveness aside, there's probably a greater likelihood of someone introducing malware onto their system if they're using the most likely anti-malware system, versus using something comparable but not so much in the spotlight.
For that reason alone, users that aren't very "in the know" in regard to computer security should generally opt for equally effective 3rd party AV software, especially if they aren't planning on being vigilant about what they do, despite the promise of being "protected".
Freebase Dali is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads



© 2003-2023 Advameg, Inc.