Music Banter

Music Banter (https://www.musicbanter.com/)
-   Album Reviews (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/)
-   -   Tool - 10,000 Days (https://www.musicbanter.com/album-reviews/17815-tool-10-000-days.html)

Ace 08-02-2006 05:10 AM

Tool - 10,000 Days
 
I loved Tool's new album 10,000 Days. The first single, Vicarious, was released by accident around 4/20/06. In this song Maynard James Keenan perfectly symbolizes most people's desire for drama, or tragedy. He especially focuses on the news media. You can't help but notice how the media can be compared to a pack of hungry wolves, when it comes to getting a good story. The title 10,000 Days is taken from the time his mother spent paralyzed, until the year that she died. 10,000 days is around 27 years, and in the songs Wings For Marie/10,000 Days, the main topic is Maynard's mother. To be honest I'm not completely sure what this next song is about.....maybe they were high...haha...but The Pot, is one of the best songs on the new album. The band hasn't had this kind of intensity in quite a long time. The only way I can compare it, is to some work off the Aenima album. Maynard's vocals sound like it was, "..back in '93, on the first EP". Jambi is the second song on the album, and Adam Jones has a sick solo with his guitar + talkbox. The song, Right In Two, is so good you're going to have to just buy the album and listen to it. Overall this is probably the second best album, in my opinion. The 2001 album, Lateralus, is one of the best Metal albums period. 10,000 Days is fantastic, but doesn't quite top Lateralus. Listening to both albums however, you have to sit back and play them a few times, just to digest what the band's singing about. If you haven't got a copy of 10,000 Days, get off the couch and go buy one.

Merkaba 08-02-2006 10:06 PM

Thanks for the review, Ace.

Personally, I thought 10,000 Days lacked flow. I really enjoyed the kick off with Vicarious followed by the rumbling Jambi, but then it came to an ubrupt halt. Wings for Marie and 10,000 Days are both good but I felt as a whole they killed the album. The Pot tried to regain some of the initial momentum but couldn't sustain it. I like all the songs individually but as a whole, as an album, it just felt mediocre.

Ace 08-02-2006 11:19 PM

Same at first.
 
I thought the same thing after hearing it through the first time. I actually thought most of it was garbage. But it took a few listens, and alot of listening to the lyrics, to really get into it. This album is more like a piece of art, rather than a piece of music. Althought it isn't official, you can mix three of the songs off 10,000 Days together, and form the full version of 10,000 Days. Supposedly, anyway. Viginti Tres, (which stands for 23 in latin. 23 is the number of snychronization.), mixed with Wings For Marie is like 11:05. I think 10,000 Days is also 11:05. Play Viginti Tres followed by Wings For Marie, in one media player, while playing 10,000 Days at the same time in another.
I'm not really sure if this was meant to happen, but the tracks do synch pretty well, and it sounds great. If you want some more information, I've got the link for how to mix the tracks, plus I have an mp3 already mixed.

Stone Magnet 08-02-2006 11:24 PM

Lateralus was a trip around the stars - 10,000 Days is a walk through the woods.

TheBig3 08-06-2006 06:42 PM

Lateralus was self-absorbed and art for the sake of art. 10,000 days is realistic and personal.

I think The Pot was one of the greatest songs released this year. Probably one of Tool's best songs.

under 08-06-2006 07:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBig3KilledMyRainDog
Lateralus was self-absorbed and art for the sake of art. 10,000 days is realistic and personal.

I think The Pot was one of the greatest songs released this year. Probably one of Tool's best songs.


I also liked The Opiate by TOOL.

Vicarious is also a pretty good song that they made. One of my favorites.

Stone Magnet 08-06-2006 07:43 PM

The Lateralus was pretty good too.

Ace 08-06-2006 09:31 PM

10,000 Days is more of the art album. Lateralus is their best period. The song puts me to sleep =))

marcwb17 08-07-2006 07:16 AM

is this stuff hard rock?

Ace 08-07-2006 08:10 PM

Yeah. They're usualy labeled Alternative Metal/Progressive Rock. Listen to them and see for yourself.

beat yr own KID 08-13-2006 07:10 PM

Pitchfork gave the only review worth reading of this cd.

tdoc210 08-14-2006 01:08 AM

^ first off thats insulting to the reviwer, and second, stop bashing tool

Urban Hat€monger ? 08-14-2006 02:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by the death of capitilism
^ first off thats insulting to the reviwer, and second, stop bashing tool

Why?

Is there a protection act saying that certain bands that are popular among members here cannot be criticised?

Sacred cows were invented to be pissed on

tdoc210 08-14-2006 06:29 AM

^ urban he's dome it in every thread, dont make me do that to the fall. *excalmation point*

TheBig3 08-14-2006 06:31 AM

Pitchfork? You read that page for serious critisism? Forget your kid, beat yourself sir.

Ace 08-15-2006 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBig3KilledMyRainDog
Pitchfork? You read that page for serious critisism? Forget your kid, beat yourself sir.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

MoonlitSunshine 08-20-2006 01:51 PM

I think that someone should put their entire tool collection on the sharing thread just for me. :D poor poor tool deprived me.

Ace 08-20-2006 01:53 PM

Indeed. I'd send you a few albums, but it would take me a year to do it.

Spike*Spiegel 08-20-2006 10:07 PM

I was sooooo disappointed with this album. its the same old stuff rehashed, yet again. damnit, maynard's losin it.

Ace 08-21-2006 05:28 PM

Wrong. It's a new direction for the whole band. That's why there's going to be people who love it, or people who think it's just garbage.

tdoc210 08-21-2006 06:24 PM

^ yeah, its entireley different.. it sounds nothing liek their old albums

Spike*Spiegel 08-21-2006 06:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ace
Wrong. It's a new direction for the whole band. That's why there's going to be people who love it, or people who think it's just garbage.

youve got to be kidding. how is this a new direction?? it sounds like they mashed lateralus and aenima together and threw in a few new words

MoonlitSunshine 08-21-2006 06:38 PM

I'm still waiting for someone to put it up for me...

Ace 08-21-2006 06:42 PM

10,000 Days is nothing like the other albums. Really the only thing similar, is the guitar riff in Vicarious and Schism. The playing has progressed greatly during the five year gap between Lateralus and this album. Especially with Adam's guitar playing. This album could really be considered more of a work of art, than music itself. I like Lateralus better than any of their albums, but this one is nothing short of amazing. Those who can fully digest Tool's material will probably love it, while the rest will regard it as a disappointment.

tdoc210 08-21-2006 06:42 PM

^ you should actually buy 10,000 days for teh artwork

MoonlitSunshine 08-21-2006 06:44 PM

Ahhh Music is soo expensive here though. It'd cost like 25 euro (around 30 dollars). I don't have that kind of money at the moment to be spent on 1 cd

Ace 08-21-2006 06:46 PM

I know what you mean. Try shopping online at Amazon.com. I bought 3 cd's off there for a little over $33. That included shipping, but I'm not sure what it would be in Ireland.


EDIT: And if you haven't heard that much from Tool,
I'd strongly suggest that you buy Lateralus first.

MoonlitSunshine 08-21-2006 06:49 PM

Yeah, you see the fact that I'm 17 means I don't have a credit card which means that I'd have to use my mum's or something and she wouldn't let me so that kinda rules that way out for a year!

Ace 08-21-2006 06:53 PM

Yeah I'm 16, and I used my paren'ts debit card. I'm pretty sure you can get a debit card even at 17 though. Or you could get an Amazon gift card or something.

MoonlitSunshine 08-21-2006 06:56 PM

hmm yeah I have one of those. Meh I couldn't be bothered. I'll probably buy it at some stage during a sale

Stone Magnet 08-21-2006 07:00 PM

They've progressed more with this album than they have with any of their previous releases.

Quote:

how is this a new direction?
http://www.musicbanter.com/showpost....&postcount=167

Listen more carefully.

TheBig3 08-25-2006 06:55 AM

You suggest Lateralus for the first album? WTF? Hey maybe thats your honest opinion, but I think fans of a band forget that what you think is the best album is not the most accesible.

Aenima

Ace 08-25-2006 03:44 PM

That would be a good choice for a first purchase. I just like Lateralus more than any of the other albums. Aenima has alot of Tool's best songs on it too, so either way they'd be making a good choice.

Mr Sensitive 08-25-2006 04:23 PM

I have only one Tool album and that's Aenima. It's a great album, I've had it for ages and I still find new things I like about it.

mudsonknot 08-25-2006 05:11 PM

lol, it's ok

Ace 08-25-2006 05:32 PM

You should definately pick up Lateralus and 10,000 Days next. I have yet to buy a copy of Undertow, and I've only heard some of the Opiate EP.

Mr Sensitive 08-25-2006 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ace
You should definately pick up Lateralus and 10,000 Days next. I have yet to buy a copy of Undertow, and I've only heard some of the Opiate EP.

If that post was aimed at me, will do.

NaNaNer 01-05-2007 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stone Magnet (Post 269161)
Lateralus was a trip around the stars - 10,000 Days is a walk through the woods.

Thats a kind way of putting it. I like 10,000 days cause..well..I am a Tool fan but it lacked the flow I was expecting...its talented very well written and performed but it seems as though the collaberation of songs lacks the emotion I had expected.

bushaintmypresident 02-04-2007 08:42 AM

I think 10,000 Days is great, but it's still pretty disapointing after five years and that's what these great minds create. I honestly expected more. But still pretty good. I give it a 4/5.

swim 02-04-2007 09:01 AM

It's not like they took five years to write the album. They had side projects.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:41 AM.


© 2003-2022 Advameg, Inc.